NEW AND IMPROVED (really!) Gluten-free granola

My favorite breakfast when I was a kid was granola mixed with yogurt.  Well, that and hot rice pudding.  Anyways.  A couple of years ago, I was seduced by an attractive package of Enjoy Life Foods’ Very Berry Crunch Granola.  As I reviewed at that time, it was absolutely awful, completely inedible, and I threw the rest of the package out.

Enjoy Lifes Very Berry Granola -- IMPROVED!!

Enjoy Life's Very Berry Granola -- IMPROVED!!

On Saturday night, I was grocery shopping, and saw the package again, nominally on sale ($4.39 instead of $4.49) with a $0.55 coupon that I knew my grocery store would double to $1.00 off.  I normally don’t spend more than $3 on a box of gluten-free cereal, but I decided to give it a shot, since the coupon proclaimed, NEW & IMPROVED!!!

Wow.  They aren’t kidding.  The new formula doesn’t even bear a passing resemblance to its old self;  the new granola is completely different.  It’s absolutely… granola-like.  Light, smaller clusters, a mix of crunchy textures.  I mixed it with yogurt when I was done grocery shopping, and was extremely pleased.

As far as granola flavor goes, it’s a little bit one-dimensional, since Enjoy Life products are not only gluten-free and dairy-free, they’re nut-free, and free of just about any allergen you can think of.  So, this particular flavor is – just – berry, both with berry bits and natural berry flavor.  But, that’s more of a function of being allergen-free;  it’s not really a problem with the cereal itself.  If you want a bit more variety, sprinkle on some raisins and almonds, or something like that.

The next morning, I tried the cereal with rice milk, and it was like rice overload, since most of the ingredients in the granola are rice-derived.  I think it would taste better with either dairy milk or soy milk, or some other non-rice milk/drink.

Still.  Very good, very much worth buying (especially on sale with a coupon).

Thank you, Enjoy Life, for listening to consumer feedback and reformulating your product!!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 25, 2009, in Allergies, Celiac Disease, gluten-free, Reviews, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for giving us another try! We’re so happy you enjoyed it this time around : ) Goes to show, that consumer feedback can go a long way! We love it when people talk to us – helps us bring you tastier foods!

Leave a Reply

