Bits from Sunday (computer fast, friends, cereal, and baseball moms)

(Note:  I’m backdating this, because I actually wrote it on Monday 06/01, but I was having internet connectivity problems and it wouldn’t post.)

  • Except for occasionally, when I’m at home with a sick kid, I never turn the computer on, on Sunday.  We fast from it.  🙂  That means on Monday, I have reams of e-mail, mostly from Freecycle and from the Phoenix Celiac Yahoo group.  I had an especially big batch today since I didn’t even check e-mail until 9:30 p.m. or so, Monday night.
  • For the last few weeks, I’ve been thinking, “I need to talk with Cristi about how she mothers Madeline” because Audrey is like her daughter Madeline but… not quite as intense, which for me, is hard to fathom because Audrey is so very intense.  It takes more energy to mother her than all my other four children combined.  Cristi and I actually talked on the phone on Saturday night, but it was all about gluten-free pizza; she called me with a few baking questions.  🙂  Anyways.  So, my family goes out to lunch on Sunday, the first time I’ve gone in a good month or so.  And, who should we see?  Cristi and her husband and their three girls.  Plus another friend with her daughter!!  Not to minimize the presence of the “other friend” but it was amazing to me because I really wanted to spend some time chatting with Cristi, and I was thinking, “How am I going to make that happen?” and voila!  There they are.  So, we chatted.  🙂  It was a good conversation, but too detailed to go into here, for now at least.  Martin enjoyed talking with Ralph, Cristi’s husband.  Martin and Ralph were close friends before we all got married and our time and priorities shifted.  Still, we all like each other a great deal.  Our families were sprawled across several tables, and my son Ethan was kind of left out in the cold on his own at a very small adjacent table.  I felt badly for him, and urged him to slide over and squish in, so that he wouldn’t be all alone.  But, he actually liked being king of his own table.  🙂  I kept checking in with him, but he didn’t feel lonely at all.  Funny.  I so would have felt like I was on the outside looking in, but not him.
  • Sunday night, I went grocery shopping.  Well, one store in the afternoon, then another store at night, after the kids were in bed.  I finally saw gluten-free Corn Chex on the shelves, which I had been eagerly anticipating.  But, it was a no-go for $4.39 for a 12 oz box.  Bummer.  I’ll have to wait until it goes on sale and/or I have a coupon.  But, I must say I am LOVING General Mills, which is making an outstanding effort to produce “normal” grocery items that are truly gluten-free.  They are working closely with celiac experts to make sure all ingredients are safe, sourcing is safe, there are no cross-contamination issues, etc.  They’re such a big company that they can dedicate a whole facility to making gluten-free-whatever.  General Mills owns the Betty Crocker brand, and they are coming out with mixes — should be on the shelves within the next few weeks — of brownies, yellow cake, chocolate chip cookies, etc.  (Hm.  My hot link button isn’t working — so, until that’s fixed:  http://www.bettycrocker.com/products/gluten-free/gluten-free.htm)  My husband is so leery of mixes, and I should be too;  it seems like mixes never work out for me.  He says, “Don’t buy the mix.  They never turn out right.  Just make your own recipe and make sure you write it down!”  He knows me well.  But, mixes are very enticing, I must say!!  Very enticing.
  • I was watching the Diamondbacks get blown out by the Braves yesterday afternoon… and at one point, a young pitcher named Daniel Schlereth came in to pitch.  It was only his second outing in the big-leagues;  he got called up straight from AA on Friday.  His Dad is Mark Schlereth, the Pro Bowl guard who played football for Denver, and who now does football commentary on ESPN, plus is frequently on sports talk radio.  He’s also really young-looking, and my husband looked it up tonight, and Mark and his wife had Daniel when he (Mark) was 19.  Whoa.  Mark was born the same year my husband was, so if Martin had done similarly, he’d have a 23yo son, too.  Crazy.  Anyways.  When Daniel was pitching, the camera kept showing his parents and sister in the stands.  They were absolutely on the edge of their seats with every pitch, every play.  It was precious.  It really was.  Then, Mark Grace, who does the color commentary for the Diamondbacks (except for Saturdays, because he does the Fox Saturday game of the week) said, “My mom is texting me.  She says that watching the Schlereth family watch their son brings back memories and chills.”  That was sweet.  Then, Daron Sutton, the D’backs’ play-by-play guy, says, “See?  Gracie’s mom is still watching a 9-0 blowout!”  As in, she’s such a great Diamondbacks fan that she’d watch into the deep innings when there’s virtually no hope of us winning.  We did score eventually, and it ended up being a 9-3 loss.  But, that’s not my point, which is this:  I’ll bet Mark Grace’s mom was not watching because she is such a die-hard D’backs fan.  I’ll bet she’s watching because she’s a die-hard MARK GRACE fan.  She loves her boy.  Moms are like that.  Of course, just going by statistics, it’s an awfully slim chance that my son Ethan will ever make it to the minor leagues, let alone the majors, let alone be an All Star, and have a fabulous, amazing career like Gracie, then parlay that into a broadcasting career.  Still.  If that were to ever happen, that would SO be me — watching baseball games specifically where my son was involved, just because he was involved.  Know what I mean?  I am a baseball fan, but I’m much more a fan of my own children.  🙂
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 1, 2009, in Baseball, Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Family, Friendships, gluten-free, Motherhood, Parenting, Sports Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

