I’m ready, I’m ready, I’m ready-eddy-eddy!

Didja hear about this??

I read about this in a gluten-free blog a couple of months ago.  Created with celiac baking experts, in conjunction with both the Celiac Disease Foundation and the Celiac Sprue Association, tested (and approved!) by actual celiacs, made in a dedicated gluten-free facility…  Mmmmm….

The website also has butter-free instructions for those (like my son) who also can’t have dairy.

These are supposed to roll out some time this month.  I’ve been checking the Betty Crocker section of baking mixes every time I go to the grocery store for the last month.

The company became alerted to the great need for “normal” grocery items that are gluten-free after one of the employees on the “baking team” was diagnosed with celiac disease.

Although I am all for mom ‘n’ pop companies producing gluten-free items, I’m also enthused about large corporations jumping onboard, mostly because they have the resources to do it right.  I had a friend whose husband worked at a Cheerios plant (the Betty Crocker brand is owned by General Mills) in Michigan, and that’s ALL that plant produced:  regular Cheerios.  So, I’d imagine that with so many manufacturing facilities at their disposal, it would be easy to switch one or more over to be a dedicated gluten-free plant.

According to the website, the gluten-free mixes will be more expensive than regular Betty Crocker mixes, but the pricelikely is noticeably lower than what you’re used to paying for gluten free dessert mixes.”

I can’t wait!!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 5, 2009, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GFCF, gluten-free, Gluten-Free and Food Allergy Resources, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so excited for you! That’s awesome that companies are becoming more aware and making things suitable for those who suffer from this disease. 🙂

  2. that is SO cool!! I’m excited! it’s total junk food – and nothing redeemable about it, I know… but something abut a betty crocker cake baking in the oven just reminds me of the good things of childhood. (that was home made when I was growing up!)

Leave a Reply

