Camping (with friends??), Birding, Sewing, more on Fiala’s skin

  • If you know me IRL and want to join us on a camping trip around Labor Day in Oak Creek, north of Sedona, let me know!!
  • I’m a bad birder.  Well, not really.  But, my kids have destroyed all three of my pairs of binoculars — none of them were super-expensive — binoculars can be INSANELY expensive.  But, I now have no binocs to use, and there’s a pair of some sort of yellow and black warblers in my back yard that must be nesting close by, because I see them flitting about, almost butterfly-like every morning, chipping almost as high and tinkly-like as hummingbirds.  But, I can’t get a good enough look at them to really identify them, and it’s driving me nuts.
  • I’ve been sewing stuff for my friend Erin’s baby’s room (and the cradle, which will be in their room, not the baby’s room).  I’ve had a lot of fun with it.  I feel awful, though, because I should have been done way before now… It seems like Erin isn’t concerned;  the baby is due at the end of July.  But, I envisioned myself being done way before now.  I’m using this fabric, along with coordinating solids:
  • Fiala’s skin is worse than ever, especially on her face.  It looks like chemical burns on her face.  I’ve been having problems with my pediatrician — nothing they have suggested or prescribed has worked, and they want me to come in yet again (for the FOURTH consultation about it), which is another $25, before I go to an allergist or dermatologist.  They also mentioned “stronger” medications.  I’m not opposed to medication, but I’d rather find the source.  I also don’t see the sense in seeing the ped again before I go to an allergist or dermatologist, especially when I have a PPO and don’t need a referral.  However, all the dermatologists I’ve found either a) won’t see babies as young as Fiala, b) aren’t covered by my insurance, or c) are way too far from my house.  And, we have historically had really bad luck with allergists, but I’m considering trying to find a new allergist.  I know a great doctor that is both an allergist and dermatologist, but… he’s not covered by my insurance.  I’m considering biting the bullet and just seeing him.  I called his office, and he doesn’t usually see patients as young as Fiala, but he is willing to take her on.  Fiala’s skin problesm likely stem from something I’m eating.  I’m already gluten-free.  I went back to being 100% dairy-free, and that hasn’t helped.  So, as of Saturday afternoon, I’m taking out tree nuts and eggs, which are both big parts of my diet.  Big.  I probably eat a dozen eggs and literally a pound of nuts each week.  😦
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 8, 2009, in Allergies, Arizona, Babies, birding, Celiac Disease, Dairy-free, Friendships, gluten-free, Parenting, Sad Things, The Kids, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. glutenfree4goofs

    Can it be breast milk? I know that seems extreme but with milk allergies already in the family could it be milk of any type? I have been going through this with my youngest too and she has face rash, diaper rash… I’ve been wondering about the milk. When she was younger I also discovered that both of us had internal yeast infections (often called candida) it was causing horrible burn like welts under her armpits and in the groin area (but none on the face). At that point she was strictly breast milk but be aware- the candida diet is likely one of the factors that caused her weight loss, I should have been more careful. Bummer, I hope you can get to the bottom of it!

    • Well… I think it is breast milk, but only because I’m likely eating something that is going INTO the breastmilk. I am a firm NON-believer that babies can have a total allergy to breastmilk — only the stuff that goes into the breastmilk from the Mommy. So, I just have to figure out what I’m eating that is causing the reaction.

      Thankfully, I am not susceptible at all to yeast infections. I’ve never had one, ever. So, candida is unlikely. But, just to be safe, I looked up (a long time ago) what yeast rashes looked like, especially on the face, and hers definitely is not candida/yeast.

  2. An allergist / dermatologist combo. What a novel idea! I’ve always wondered why they don’t work together better! I feel your pain. After 3 years of dealing with allergies and still not knowing ALL of the triggers…I understand how frustrating/tiring/…it can be.

    Has anything changed seasonally in your area that could be affecting her? i.e. Here we now have nice weather and are outside so my boy’s grass allergies make his skin worse. Anything like that for you guys?

    • Funny… I hardly ever think of environmental/air allergies, like pollen and such, which are the things that MOST people struggle with, with allergies. But, that’s probably because most of our family’s allergies are food. Wesley is allergic to pine… we can’t have real Christmas trees any more. 😦 But, I must say that I have not thought about Fiala and pollen-like allergies. But, those things usually affect sinuses, right? Not skin? I suppose any reaction is possible… But, I think eczema is usually contact eczema (which she does have — which is why the switch in detergent helped her skin, especially on her body, and why she breaks out after church on Sunday), OR food allergy. Given our history, that’s why I tend to think it’s food-related. But, at this point, I’m not ruling anything out.

      By the way, I decided to talk to a person at my insurance, rather than just their website, and did find a pediatric dermatologist fairly near to me. I told the scheduler lady that I am interested in finding the source, and not just to medicate… she said that on the first appointment, they do micro injections under the skin to test for reactions. (I’m going to also ask for RAST tests for tree nuts, soy, eggs, corn, and rice.) But, the appt isn’t until mid-July. At that point, hopefully, my own elimination diet experiments will have shown something.

  3. I feel for you! Praying that you get to the bottom of for Fiala and for you!

  4. you have my sympathies on the diet!! i miss eggs desperately. I’m finally noticing a difference in my son and i think it’d the dairy free diet. I’ve even dairy free for a little over 2 weeks. and it’s the only thing that I have given up totally (aside from gluten of course). and I am eating fermentedsour kraut every day – some people swear by it.

  5. glutenfree4goofs

    I think I too am a non believer in being allergic to breastmilk but I have never had to consider it so it got me thinking about the make-up and the protein’s that so many celiac’s are supposedly allergic to in milk. Just wondered how that compares to mom’s milk. You are right though a face rash is usually associated with food allergies. Mom’s intuition is key and you are probably right on both counts (contact AND food). Do you eat tomatoes? May be one to consider.

    • Yes, technically, the protein in breastmilk IS a casein. When I had to go totally casein-free with Audrey when she was about 3 weeks, due to both digestive and skin problems, I read some stuff (anecdotally, not anything official) that said that if the child had a severe casein allergy/intolerance, then the mother must stop breastfeeding, because b’milk has casein. I thought, “What a load of cr@p” and I went off of all cow dairy, and she was totally fine. I tentatively tried out goat milk & cheese, but that didn’t work, either. The good news is that, now that she’s 3, she seems to be handling dairy better, and we give her a bit of cheese from time to time with no apparent ill effects.

      Tomatoes. Wow, yes. I eat a lot. Daily, or very nearly so. When he was little, Wesley had a bad allergy to all naturally red foods, like tomatoes and strawberries. (I’m sounding like a broken record w/ kids and allergies, aren’t I? Ack.) If the egg & nut thing doesn’t work, maybe I’ll try that next!!

  6. Oh man, ugh. May you find out what’s going on soon.

    Lord, I ask that You will provide the right insight whether through a doctor or simple diet change. Amen.

    ~Luke

  7. That poor sweet baby. I can’t even imagine having rashes like that. Does it seem to bother her? I can’t help much. But my 6 yo (parrot) had severe milk allergies and soy too. But the strange thing was it didn’t really show up until she was weaned and then all hell broke loose. She has finally outgrown most of it.

    I will be praying that you find the cause.

    • Thank you, Christy!!

      It does bother her. It itches. In fact, now that she’s 7mo and more dexterous, it’s a real problem. We used to just put socks over her hands, but now, she can pull the socks off. Even when she leaves them on, she rubs her cheeks until they’re raw and oozing. With the socks off, the scratches them until they bleed. 😦 It’s awful. I clip her nails every 2-3 days. NOTHING has seemed to help. Not prescription hydrocortisone (2.5%), not 20 billion different kinds of moisturizers, not topical or systemic/liquid Benedryl… the only thing that partially works is my homemade salve, but I have to get it on THICK for it to really work, so she’s all yellow and greasy, but now she can rub that off, too.

      I do have an appt with a dermatologist now for 7/10… And, her skin looks a teensy bit improved this morning, but sometimes it just does that on its own, and I can’t tell yet if my dietary restrictions are helping or not.

Leave a Reply

