Learning curve

I like change.  I really do.  I get bored if things get in a rut.  Usually.

But, it often takes me so long to learn “X New Thing” that it makes it not worth it.

A small example might be, say, a new grocery store.  One opened up fairly near to me recently, a Wal-Mart Neighborhood Market.  Maybe this isn’t a fair comparison, because I’m really not a fan of Wal-Mart anyways.  (I heard on the radio the other day that Wal-Mart is the largest private employer in the state.  I found that somewhat disturbing.)  However, I’ve only been in the “Neighborhood Market” twice, both times to pick up one “quick” item.  I will not return.  I like “my” grocery stores, and the time it takes to learn where everything is located, and all the ins and outs of shopping at a new place, well, it’s just not worth it.

I’ve made a few crib bumpers in my sewing days, and I make them pretty much the same.  However, in one I’m making currently, I decided to inspect the (store-bought) one that I’m using in Fiala’s cradle.  I saw that they sewed the two short sides, the bottom long side, then bound the top with… umm… a strip of enforced fabric (I don’t know what the term is).  I thought, “How clever!  What a time saver!”  Previously, I’ve sewn the two long sides, one short side, then turned the whole thing right-side out.  I thought this new way would save so much time.

Well, I won’t go into the reasons why, but I’m now about to rip-stitch out the binding.  For the second time.  The first time, I was only about 1/4 done.  This time, I was about 7/8 done.  Hmph.  It has not been any kind of time saver, due to my mistakes and unforeseen problems.

I’ve learned a lot, like all the things that can go wrong with such a technique.  And, each time I attempt it, I am doing it better.  But, I’m finding myself really wishing I had done it the “old” way in the first place.

However, having a contrasting bound bit across the top is really appealing to me now, and even though I could alter the bumper to do it the old way, I’d lose the contrasting binding, and I really don’t want to do that.  I like the way it looks with contrasting binding.

So… rip stitch it is.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 8, 2009, in Random Stuff, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. If your friend lets you…you should post a picture of your finished nursery project. I’d love to see it.

  2. glutenfree4goofs

    You are way ahead of schedule. My mom and sis are making a crib set for my youngest and she is 8mo old and still doesn’t have the last bumper! Good thing I’ve got a large cradle! 🙂

  3. I HATE going to a new grocery store. Just wandering around looking where in the world they put things. And it always seems so illogical. They really ought to have mothers design grocery stores.

    We got a brand new Whole Foods near my house. I went in once and then didn’t go in again for about a year. It just overwhelmed me.

    • Great minds… umm… have the same neuroses. 😉

      I read somewhere that grocery stores are purposefully illogically arranged in order to get the shopper to traverse more territory, because the longer they’re in the store, the more they buy. That’s why the dairy dept is always way in the back, etc.

      • Don Norman writes about that in The Design of Everyday Things. Baaaad grocery stores. Walmart, of course, are Satan in my book. But try getting my Florida based mother to shop anywhere else…

        We actually stopped using bumpers after various scare stories about the tangles active babies can get into. Of course, we’d be way too lazy to stitch them up – your industry with a new baby in the house continues to amaze and intimidate by turn!

        • That book looks really interesting. I checked, but my library doesn’t have it.

          I said, “WHAT?!?” outloud to that last bit you wrote. 😮 I don’t think I’m particularly amazing and I have a deep desire to NOT be intimidating. That has happened at times IRL (I think it’s because of my semi-tall stature, and sometimes thoughtfully furrowed brow that can appear as a scowl), much to my consternation. I find it disturbing that I’m having the same effect in my blog. 😦

Leave a Reply

