Fi’s poor, sweet face

Taken with the nearly worthless phone in my camera, because either my real camera has died, or it needs — yet another — a new set of rechargeable batteries.

060909 11001

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 9, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Sad Things, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Oh baby! 😦

    After I saw this photo, I picked up my Josh to feed him. Here’s my thought process.. Josh has a similar issue (although not as bad) on his chest right under his chin. He is teething. I see Fiala has a tooth. His chest is worse lately because it is damp from drool due to teething. Does Fiala sleep on her belly? Is she drooling? Could this be from sleeping on dampness? Maybe something to watch. (Although I’m not sure what to suggest if that might be the case!!??)

    When Zach had bad like this they gave us a steroid cream which I used VERY SPARINGLY just to clear it up. It helped a lot quite quickly without using much.

    Makes a momma’s heart hurt doesn’t it!

    • Yes, she certainly does have some “drool rash,” mostly on her upper chest and neck, from teething.

      But, the patches on her face started when she was about 2.5 month, on the right side of her face (almost to her ear) when she slept 100% of the time on her back! Now, she sleeps about half the time on her tummy, which certainly exacerbates the problem, but I don’t think it’s the source.

      And, yes, it totally makes my heart hurt. I feel like I should have been able to figure something out or do something better so that her face wouldn’t be so bad… 😦

  2. Oh, that poor baby! And poor mommy!! I’m so sorry that you are having this trouble and haven’t figured out why! I hope you are able to find a doctor that can help!!

  3. OUCH! Poor Fiala! That looks so painful. Have you tried putting any unrefined coconut oil on it? I find that helps heal my skin ailments.

    • No, I haven’t tried that one! I’ll put it on my shopping list. While it’s my great hope to find the underlying cause of her eczema, we do still need a reliable, effective, natural moisturizer. I have some homemade salve made from olive oil and beeswax. I really like it, but it does leave her all slickery. Does coconut oil rub in fairly well?

      • It does absorb in fairly well, as it liquefies when it gets massaged around warm skin. Lindsay at Passionate Homemaking talks about tons of uses of coconut oil on her blog.

  4. Ooooh, ouch!! Of course my first thought is cutting out gluten, but I assume you have that covered. I know you’ve tried lots of things. How miserable for her. I second the un-refined coconut oil. I know lots of people who swear by it. Homeopathy would be my next suggestion. It has helped me with a lot of weird mystery ailments.

  5. newbeginnings09

    Poor Fiala! This rash looks very similar to what my son has, which is a citrus allergy. I second the tomato removal from your diet as what to try next. He also is allergic to oranges, strawberries, ketchup, pickles, ect. Anything that would be acidic we skip, as well as dairy and eggs. Fun times!
    (((hugs)))) to you both.
    Ade

  6. Oh, poor baby girl! I wonder if it’s some kind of viral or bacterial infection. Have you tried the new Apothecary on 75th and Deer Valley, called the Potter’s House? Maybe they have something natural to help.
    I will pray for Fiala and you, too, that you’ll find the answer.
    Hopefully we can meet up again soon!

    Jeanne

    • Ack! I don’t know how I missed this yesterday, Jeanne! Nothing personal in the delay of approving your comment! Sorry about that. I saw that apothecary a couple of weeks ago… Have you gone there? … I looked through all sorts of yucky pictures about various skin problems and infections, and to my (admittedly untrained) eye, none of them looked like any viral or bacterial infection that I saw. I did think, at first, that it really must be an infection, because it’s just so bad… but I think it looks 2-3X worse simply because she paws at it.

  7. poor baby!! does she eat any solids yet? both my kids get face rashes from certain foods that get really bad if we don’t remove the food. dairy and citrus mostly.

    i second trying coconut oil for moisturizing. it wont cure it likely but it may help.

  8. glutenfree4goofs

    Oh my, that poor sweet baby! Brings me to tears. I read exerpts of a medical book today- had info about breast milk and what could cause such a problem, some of the suggestions were… (besides the most obvious mentioned above) beef, fish, soy, pea, string bean, rice, squash, poultry (not in that order). The book is- “Pediatric allergy, asthma and immunology” By Arnaldo Cantani 2008. You can preview many of the pages on Google books and search by topic. I found p 1448 to be helpful. P. 1449 basically said that parents shouldn’t be put under the undue stress of restrictive diets because they are likely to fail, phoo-hoo! Also pg. 622 starts a discussion on BM transfer of food allergens. Anyhow maybe you can dig up something there. I found out that Davie’s is likely sweet potato. Odd, I would have never thought of that.

  9. I am usually a lurker and just read about you amazing family, but I wanted to share some wonderful gluten-free info with you. I treated myself to coffee at Starbucks on the way to work this morning and was surprised when the woman at the window offered me some cake. I thanked her and explained I was gluten-free. She smiled and said “Well, then here is more than a sample. This is our new gluten-free orange valencia cake. Have a great day!” I know that you enjoy your Starbucks indulgences as much as I and I this makes the next one even better! (Sorry this is so off topic.)

  10. Yikes. Seeing it adds an urgency to get it cleared up. Lord, provide wisdom, please!

    ~Luke

  11. My little man had something very similar, and I discovered that it had to do with the die-off toxins coming from my body when I was taking some pretty powerful probiotics… are you eating lots of probiotic foods, or taking probiotic supplements?

  12. Oh her cheeks look so bad. But those gorgeous blue eyes are ones you could drown in. And that little tooth peeking out is so sweet. She is such a beautiful baby. I hope you find the answer right away.

    • I keep meaning to tell you, Christy, that we have been calling her Koala sometimes!!! When she’s laying on her back, and we reach over to touch her tummy, she sometimes wraps her legs and arms around our hands… So sweet. My hubby started with the “Koala” thing, and I think it’s so funny, since that’s your newest’s nickname.

  13. glutenfree4goofs

    One more quick note. The book mentioned transfer rash from kisses from anyone who had eaten an offending food or drank cows milk etc. are often more severe than would seem. Praying for your precious baby!

  14. Oh, that poor baby! Praying for wisdom for you in getting to the bottom of this!

  15. that is heart-breaking. 😦

Leave a Reply

