Two birds, one stone… maybe

Ugh.  I hate establishing care with a new doctor.  I know I’ve blogged about that before.  I just hate it.  Last summer, a friend of mine decided to get braces, and literally went to six or seven different orthodontists before she found one that she really liked.  I was in awe.  I could so not do that:  troop around to doctors on end, interviewing them, sizing them up…  That sounds horrific.

With the five kids I have, the doctor of whom I’ve seen the most over the last 12 years or so has been my OB/GYN.  I had a general practitioner, but it’s been… I think… nearly seven years since I’ve seen him.  I liked him a lot;  I just didn’t have much need for doctoring outside of my OB.  And, my old OB functioned as my primary care doctor, and was happy to do so, which was another reason I loved him.  Then, he retired.  So, now, I have another OB with whom I’m very happy, but when our insurance told us that, in order to stave off a 15% increase in premiums, I needed a physical, my OB’s nurse, to whom I spoke about the matter, seemed like that was not their standard operating procedure.

So, I needed to find a new doctor.

I know I didn’t want my husband’s doctor, because — and I realize this is a long time to hold a grudge — when I was looking for the source of my various ailments (which turned out to be celiac disease), my husband’s doctor strongly suggested, to my face, that I was a hypochondriac.  I left the office in tears.  😦  That was almost 13 years ago, but it was such a humiliating experience, I had to get ministry for it at church.  I’m not eager to go back to him.

We also need a new pediatrician.  I love mine, but he’s been on a medical sabbatical for nearly a year.  It was supposed to be for six weeks.  That turned into a few months.  Then, it was, “He’ll be back in ____.”  That became, “He plans on being back in ______.”  Last week, when I asked the receptionist about our doctor’s return, she became snippy and said, exasperatedly, that she “doesn’t know when he’ll be back!”

So.  Like shooting an arrow in the dark, I went onto my insurance’s website, and found a doctor who is a DO, who is nearby, who is a family practitioner, and who is a woman.

I like DOs because they tend to be more supportive of holistic or natural medicine practices, and aren’t as eager (usually) to just write up a prescription for “x” symptoms;  they seem more willing to get to the root of a problem.  And, I decided on a family practitioner, because if I like her, I can switch my kids’ care over to her, as well.  And, well, about the “woman” part — well, as I get older (not like I’m ancient;  I’m almost 36), I’ve been thinking that it might help with empathetic care to have a woman as a doctor.

My appointment is not until late this month.

I’ll let y’all know how it goes, I’m sure.  😀

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 15, 2009, in Medical Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. newbeginnings09

    I hate finding a new doctor. I agree 100% about looking for a new one. A few years back I switched my children to a female family practitioner after a nasty disagreement with the pediatrician about my vaccination wishes. It was a wonderful decision! I wish you just as much luck…

  2. I hope it goes well for you. I need a new doctor, too. I’ve been going to an Internal Med. doc. for about 10 years, ever since the gp I liked joined that practice and then left a short time later. *sigh* Thanks for mentioning that about the D.O. I’ll have to look through the list of D.O.s on my insurance list. A couple of my kids are getting a little old for the ped., too, so it would be nice to find someone who would also see them.

    Fwiw, I wouldn’t go back to a doctor who told me I was a hypochondriac either!

  3. We have a female doctor and really like her. She has been very good about giving us very helpful advice–even how to get certain things cheaper elsewhere. She’s also very supportive of our adoption and is looking forward to meet our kids [smile].

    ~Luke

  4. The only care-givers I’ve ever openly argued with were women. Maybe I’ve just been “blessed” with all the unempathetic ones!

    • I’ve heard that, too, that women caregivers can be UNempathetic, kind of like, “Suck it up! It’s not so bad!” But, then, probably the BEST doctor we’ve ever had was a woman… she was my oldest son’s pediatrician when he was a baby. She was fabulous. But, then she moved to Alaska. 😦 So, we’ll see. We do vaccinate, so that eliminates a big argument right there.

Leave a Reply

