Note to “Voice of Wisdom”

Hey, “Wisdom” ~

Since you supplied a fake e-mail, I thought I’d address you here.

You recently left a comment which I have since deleted.

On my blog, conversation is encouraged.

Arguing is tolerated.

Abuse is deleted.

Telling someone — on a post about homeschooling — that they sound like an idiot has a whiff of prejudice to it. Apparently, you do not realize that prejudices are rooted in ignorance. Ignorance is fairly synonymous with “idiot.”

Come back when you can play nice.

~Karen

p.s.  Since both WordPress and Sitemeter harvests your IP address, I know that Qwest is your ISP, and you’re in Boise.  It wouldn’t be all that difficult to track you down directly.  Not that I’m going to take the time to do so.  It’s just that, apparently, you don’t know that those who hit and run on the internet are not truly invisible.  So, be careful!  And, be kind.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 23, 2009, in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. High five for you! Destroy all trolls!

    • Hey, Nick! I feel sorry for trolls, actually. What a sad life, to have nothing better to do than track down blogs with which you don’t agree and vomit on them. I seriously shake my head, and think, “Don’t you have anything better to do?” Ugh.

  2. Karen, your blog is so light and innocent. You tell us so much about your family and friends and even the joy of using cloth diapers! I have never read anything by you that was hostile or the slightest bit argumentative. I can’t believe that someone was out right rude to you about homeschooling of all things. I love homeschooling, and I have never criticized someone’s schooling choice for his or her children. Usually the ones who have an opinion about homeschooling don’t even have a clue to what it’s all about. In my experiences, well meaning people “observe” my child very carefully to make sure I haven’t “messed him up.” Grrrr!

  3. Hehehehe! I don’t know why, but your description of my “light and innocent” blog makes me giggle!!

    About the well-meaning observers… I used to get that a lot. I’m glad now, that I have a number of years of hs’ing under my belt, because the proof is in the pudding. Know what I mean? People who questioned me when my oldest was in K or 1st now (sometimes begrudgingly) admit that hs’ing is working for us. 😀 And, you’re right — sometimes the people who sound the loudest alarms against homeschooling have absolutely no clue what it’s about; it’s just the idea that is reprehensible, for some reason, which, really, seems like a prejudice to me.

  4. glutenfree4goofs

    I’m scared of “trolls”! 🙂 My Hubby is the kind who likes a good argument. I am not shy but I can’t stand outright criticism for no apparent reason especially when I can’t defend myself. Whew, good for you!

Leave a Reply

