Skin Update

Teensy Fiala-skin update: Being soy-free, PLUS smearing her all over with fresh aloe (why didn’t I think of that before????) seems to be really helping. Her skin is still awful, but the edges of the largest patches really look like they’re healing — pink instead of flaming red and oozing.

This last week, though, and especially this past weekend, I fairly gorged on dairy products, as I’ve been dairy free (or virtually so) for the last six months or so… And, I think that maybe dairy is causing a problem for her, as well. I’m going to go back to being dairy-free, in addition to soy-free (with the possible exception of half & half in my morning coffee!), and see if that helps even further.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 29, 2009, in Allergies, Dairy-free, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i’m so glad it is working! my sympathies b/c i think avoiding soy these days is almost as hard as gluten – which makes dairy free seem so easy1

  2. Poor little pumpkin! I’m thrilled to hear that the aloe may be helping… those rashes are miserable.

    Kelsey breaks out all over her rear end and legs anytime she soaks in the bath tub unless we use NO SOAP or only California Baby Super Sensitive… any other soap, shampoo, bubble bath… even residue from her siblings using the tub causes her to break out. We’ve also seen similar issues whenever she wears disposable night pants. My older one has MCS (Multiple Chemical Sensitivity) and it looks like Kelsey might also… just a thought, you may already be avoiding lotions, soaps, shampoos, etc… but they definitely make a difference in our world.

  3. Hi, first time on your blog – and happened to see your cute little girl’s rash. I have had two little girls with a very similar rash starting when each was about was 1.5 mo. old. It turn out to be MSPI (Milk and Soy protein intolerence). I had “self-diagnosed” this as my doc. was not helping at all but the diet worked and their rashes went away. My oldest outgrew her intolerence at 18 mo. and my little one is 14 mo. and still has it. I just found out that I am gluten intolerent and that is how I found your site through Ginger Lemon Girl. Good luck with this!!
    Betsy M

    • Wow! I had never heard of MSPI. Very interesting. I’ve Googled it a little bit… Fiala does have chronic congestion, but I thought it was a holdover from her having RSV in February. She has never had blood or mucous in her stools, but they are very watery. She only very rarely vomits, doesn’t have GER. She does have a touch of asthma, but that, too, I thought was a holdover from having RSV. It looks like it could certainly be MSPI. I’ll definitely bring this up with the pediatric dermatologist when we see him on 7/10.

Leave a Reply

