Do you have bald baby girls like mine??

Before

Before

After

After

Look closely at the two pics above.  Don’t you think the “after” pic is… well, just… prettier?

For only $29.95, you too could buy your — slightly faulty — darling daughter her own lifelike toupée, because, you know, your bald baby NEEDS hair.

😮

Now, Lord knows that I have grown tired of telling people that my baby girls are not boys…  In the farmer’s market, one gentleman even said, of Audrey, “Why do you have that little boy in pink?”  I was not pleased.  However…  I’ve learned to use, you know, normal headbands.  Like, the kind with no hair attached.

And I will admit, with some chagrin, that I never thought I’d drool over $12.95 hair bows (never bought one, though)…

But, I have a hard time not taking issue with whatever mom would actually buy a toupée  for her baby girl.

HT:  Erin, who wonders why she didn’t think to add this to her own baby registry.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 2, 2009, in Babies, Funny Stuff, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. hahahaha… That’s got to be one of the most ridiculous and hilarious and sad things I have ever seen. My baby is not bald (she just has very very very blonde hair), and in my opinion she looks rather feminine, and, although I am pretty anti-hairband (I think the ones with elastics are probably especially annoying for the poor baby), and I don’t have her ears pierced (very anti-baby piercing), she IS very often dressed in pink and purple and feminine-looking clothes, abd she STILL gets called a boy quite often. (Wow, that’s a really long and run-on sentence with way too many brackets!) Like today, when she was dressed in a pink shirt and red pants with white polka dots and a man still thought she was a boy. Terrible! 🙂 People are just really unobservant in general, I think.

  2. I love bald babies — boys and girls! I always thought that was the norm, until I moved to Japan (it was in my blondie family, anyway). My babies were all pretty bald for at least the first 8-12 months, though a couple of them had the mowhawk look. My daughter was often mistaken for a boy, too. I think she was more bald than any of her brothers. You’d never guess it now, though. She has very thick, wavy tresses almost down to her rump!

    I personally like the frist photo. She has such beautiful eyes!

  3. oh I think it’s a great idea! in this family we like to start hatred of self and low self esteem as early as possibly. and nothing like picking on a baby for being bald and then making them wear a wig on top of it to really get that ball rolling.

    (what are people thinking!?)

    Eva (KC) had a decent head of hair when she was born. but ti stayed about the same until she was 1 and grew very very little til she was 2.5. by the time she was 3 she had enough to sorta put into pig tails… kinda. haha. it was adorable!

  4. glutenfree4goofs

    ha ha so rediculous! My baby girl is very bald but that’s out of control! She does have ears pierced-sorry Heidi- I went back on my conviction after having three boys, I didn’t expect (or plan) for a girl so I’ve kinda gotten out of control myself but wow!

    Worse for mine is her crazy mom and dad(me lol) gave her a boy name! So my conversations go like this: “What’s HIS name?”

    Then I say “Davie, but SHE is a girl!” DUH, that was really asking for it eh? There are many many reasons behind her name so since I’m committed I have to then say, “but that’s ok, all babies look alike.” They don’t of course but it’s like our American way to think that all Japanese or all Hispanics look alike, we are just not observant. I’m learning to embrace her baldness and dress her in a lot more pink and with some people (if it doesn’t matter) I don’t even bother correcting them.

    Laura- I agree with your statement and feel the same way about baby bikini’s. How much farther CAN it go if that is the starting point? I know I know, the same applies to the earrings. Lol

    Oh brother! Karen, you always get me going-probably sick of me by now- Ha!

    • I don’t judge other people for piercing their baby’s ears, haha… I just would never do it on my own baby. 🙂

      • glutenfree4goofs

        It’s ok! 🙂 I was saying the-I agree sort of sorry- but somehow having a girl when I always thought I wanted four boys and no girls, has gotten me a little crazy. Tell me, why would you never do it? The slippery slope? The pain and discomfort? The collateral for later? Those were my reasons. I wasn’t allowed to have mine done until I was 16 and I was going to enforce that at my house. Too late! Ha

        • I just don’t like enforcing gender stereotypes I guess. If she decides on her own one day to get her ears pierced, that’s fine with me, especially considering that I have my nose pierced. Another reason is that I got my ears pierced when I was about 12 and have had all kinds of problems with infections (but not with my nose… kind of strange). I don’t even wear earrings anymore on a regular basis, because every time I do, they get sore. I have sensitivity to all metals that are not gold or silver… I can’t even wear necklaces that aren’t made of those. I just don’t want to have to deal with the possibility of earlobe infections when she’s so small and can’t tell me if it’s sore… and she’s so wiggly on top of it all, I just don’t think the holes could possibly land in the same spot. I actually don’t think she would have a hard time with the pain. She reacts quite well when she bumps her head and stuff. Haha… long answer to a very simple question! 🙂

  5. Having needed to wear a wig for years as an adult, I could never put a sensitive baby scalp through such a thing!!

  6. No Way! Way cuter bald!!!! But then I have 3 bald kids so I may be partial.

    • I have to admit, if the hair was real, I would gasp over the hair on that baby. But, REAL baby is cuter (and all around healthier, in so many ways!) than FAKE baby.

  7. aawwwwwwwwww she still cute though but if u want to use my product baby do’t be bald then u can for free cause she need it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

