Simple GFCF (Half) Wholegrain Bread for a breadmaker

Pic taken with my phone.... not the best quality!

Pic taken with my phone.... not the best quality!

I have a recipe that I worked a long time on, developing.  It produces great bread, but it has 20 billion ingredients.  (See GFCF Wholegrain Sandwich Bread.)  It also doesn’t work well in a breadmaker, for reasons unknown to me.

I fairly recently got a breadmaker off of Freecycle, and after extensive scrubbing, decided to give it a go.  I had to find the manual online, which confirmed to me that it was a no-frills, inflexible breadmaker.  I tried the recipe above, and as mentioned, it didn’t work.  I tried another recipe specifically for gluten-free breadmaker bread, which, while it produced good bread, was a gluten-free equivalent of Wonder Bread, which I didn’t want.  So, I tinkered with the recipe quite a bit, to make it a bit more healthy, and to produce a loaf that would work in my breadmaker.

I was holding off on posting this recipe until I had a camera that worked, so I could post pics, too… but I’ve decided to go ahead and post it here, and add pictures later.

My “no frills” breadmaker, doesn’t let me adjust the settings.  From what I understand, breadmakers with a “gluten free” setting omit the second rising time.  I just put mine on 1.5 lb loaf, dark (which adds 5 min baking time).   It takes 2 hrs 35 minutes for the whole cycle.

The top will cave in slightly, but it leaves 95% of the loaf intact.  (My kids fight over the scraps I cut off of the top!)  I tinkered with the amount of yeast, and if you use less yeast (about 1 ¾ tsp), it won’t over-rise, but the resulting bread is much more dense.

If you bake your bread with the below ingredients, caved top and all, the resulting loaf tastes fabulous, has a great crust, and great texture.

We eat it so fast, I don’t know how well it freezes.  I just leave it lightly covered on a wood cutting board on the countertop, and we eat it within a day or two.

Your breadmaker may be more powerful than mine, so this may not be an issue… but, I tried this (and many other recipes) the “traditional” way, with the dry ingredients on the bottom and wet on top.  Then, I tried it the gluten-free way, which is wet ingredients on bottom, dry on top.  Neither way mixed the batter thoroughly, leaving me with a dusty mess when the cycle was completed.  Now, I combine all the ingredients in a bowl, and put the mixed batter in the breadpan, and run it through the cycle.  Mixing the batter takes less than 10 minutes from start to finish — taking out ingredients to wiping the countertop clean.

I have read that if you pre-mix a gluten-free batter to take out the mixing paddle and just use the bread maker as a bread baker.  I tried that, and for some reason, the bread didn’t rise enough.   I don’t know why.  So, don’t take out your mixing paddle.

If you have any more questions, leave a comment below!  Also, PLEASE comment if you try this recipe, and have either good or negative feedback.  And, please comment if you alter the recipe, and let me know your results.

Click here for a printer-friendly version:  (Half) Wholegrain Breadmaker Bread GFCF.

Or, visit here for a similar GFCF bread on my friend Kim’s blog!

(Half) Wholegrain Breadmaker Bread, GFCF

In a medium bowl, combine with a wisk:

  • 2 ¼ tsp (regular) yeast
  • 2 c. white rice flour
  • ¾ c. brown rice flour
  • ½ c. millet flour (I use dark “bajri” flour from the Asian market)
  • 1 ½ tsp xanthan gum (NO MORE than 1 ½ tsp)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp brown rice protein powder
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp flaxseed meal

When the dry ingredients are combined, scoop the mixture into the breadpan of your breadmaker (just for holding it, so you don’t dirty another bowl).

In the same bowl, mix with a wisk:

  • 3 eggs, at room temperature (the bread won’t rise fully if the eggs are cold)
  • ¼ cup canola (or other) oil
  • 1 3/8 cup water (that is 1 ¼ cup plus 2 Tbsp)
  • 1 tsp cider vinegar

When the wet ingredients are well-combined, add the dry ingredients back in, and wisk until combined. It will make a thick batter (and likely get stuck in your wisk!). With a rubber spatula, scrape out contents into the breadpan.

Set your breadmaker at 1.5 lb, dark.  You breadmaker will vary, but on mine, this is a 2:35 cycle.

That’s it!!

Enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 6, 2009, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I just got home, been out of town. Thanks for linking my recipe. You’re right they are similar. If I ever get around to buying rice protein I will try your recipe. What is the purpose of it? I’ve never used it.

    • My husband is perpetually worried that my kids don’t get enough protein. And, rice flour is so low in protein. I counted up, and w/o the protein added, there’s about 50g protein in the loaf. 2 rounded Tbsp protein powder adds about another 25g. So, it’s just an easy way to boost protein, making the bread that much healthier. PLUS, brown rice protein powder contains all the amino acids that are left out of white rice with the removal of the bran… so, baking with white rice flour gets you the fine texture and loft that can be hard to obtain with wholegrain flours, and the brown rice protein powder adds back in the nutrition (minus the fiber) subtracted by using white rice flour! (Make sense?)

  2. Do you have any idea how this bakes up in the oven? Haven’t treated myself to a bread machine yet. I use brown rice protein in my pancakes, cobblers, etc. for the reasons you mentioned. I was excited to see it added into the bread recipe and am excited to give this a try!

    Thanks!

  3. richard etches

    This is a great recipe. I only jsut recently discovered i was wheat and gluten intolerent. I’m struggling to find any GFCF recipes, found a few on http://www.knowyourbody.tv but would really like more. Any ideas please?

    • Richard, at the top of my blog, I have a link to 46 of my own recipes. You can try those! I suggest you just start with Google searches. Try “GFCF recipe”, or even “gluten-free vegan”. Vegan means no dairy (or egg), so any gluten-free recipes that are vegan are CF, too. However, if you’re only gluten intolerant, you just need the “GF” part. “CF” means “casein-free” — casein is the protein in milk, and CF is COMPLETELY dairy-free.

  1. Pingback: GFCF Wholegrain Sandwich Bread « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

