Heard from my kids…

  • On Saturday, while shopping at Costco with just Audrey in tow, I commented, “Oooh.  A ten pound bag of red potatoes for five bucks.  That’s not a bad price, and Daddy really likes red potatoes.”  Audrey piped up, “I like red potatoes, too!”  This, from the girl who has frequently proclaimed, matter-of-factly, “I don’t like food!”  Whenever she has potatoes on her plate, she leaves them untouched.  I quizzed her for further information.  She responded, “I like red potatoes because they’re PINK!”  Ah… that explains things.  She appreciates their aesthetics, just not their taste.  Or texture.  Or something.
  • This morning, I was holding Fiala on my hip, and my 12yo son Ethan was talking and singing silly stuff at her to make her laugh.  Then, as a string of spit stretched from her bottom lip, he said in the same sing-song voice, “Baby drool is very viscous!!”  😆  I laughed so hard.  I don’t know of any other 12yo who has “viscous” as part of his working vocabulary.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 13, 2009, in Babies, Funny Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ll admit: I knew the word “viscous” but it’s not part of my working vocabulary because I don’t think I’ve ever used it. …time to start, me thinks [smile].

    ~Luke

  2. I’m can’t recall when I learned the word viscous, though I’m nearly positive it was in science at some point… even though language is my passion, I don’t think I knew it at 12! Kudos to Ethan and his Mommy. 🙂

    Loving food for color… I don’t see a problem with that. Now, maybe if you made her some pink gravy, she’d eat the potatoes, because they are white inside after all. 🙂 Color up some white gravy with beet juice.

    Color is one of the many ways I get my kids to eat! We like a colorful plate and I try to stay away from color sameness (HM mac and cheese with corns and carrots is too much yellow/orange, so we do the HM mac w/ green beans and purple grapes).

    Did I tell you that I am giving away a prize pack of Betty Crocker’s new GF baking mixes???? Its pretty fun, even for those of us who usually bake from scratch. Click over to my blog and you’ll find the link to my Eat.Drink.Better post and give away.

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    I love it, I love it! What a kick! 🙂 Viscous- I had to dig a second in my mom brain but I remembered. WOW Ethan, good job!

    I feel like Audrey does, taking pics of food for my blog has really improved my willingness to eat things that are different and good for me! I’m sure I’ve said that to my mom in the past eating is a chore.

    Jessie

    p.s. did I ever tell you I did your 3blogs meme? I also started one today since it is my 100th post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

