How to make a 12yo happy

Ethan with his "new" laptop

Ethan with his "new" laptop

Ethan, who is a packrat in every sense of the word, used his own hard-earned $130 to buy a laptop from my Dad.  In his world, it was outdated.  But, in our low-fi house, Ethan now owns a computer that’s better than Martin’s or mine.  😮

My Dad had given me the UPS tracking number, which I promptly entered on UPS’s website.  But, since I didn’t write it down anywhere else, and I didn’t want to bug my Dad for it, it disappeared when I powered my computer down for the night, so I told Ethan we’d just be surprised when it showed up, and that we were, because UPS Ground usually takes about a week, but it arrived here from Austin in only three days!  (How’s that for a run-on sentence?!?)

My Dad said, “I left such-and-such program on there, because it’s useful if he’s programming in C++” and I’m thinking, “Um, Dad.  That’s a really optimistic statement.  But, thanks anyways.”  So, maybe I need to get C++ for Dummies — which title I just made up, totally on the fly, but whaddya know?  It really is a book.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 17, 2009, in Family, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. sometimes you crack me up!

    the look on your sons face is just great. he looks so incredibly pleased with himself! it’s good when you work hard to buy something yourself. you feel such a sense of responsibility.

Leave a Reply

