My own “diaper lotion potion”

One of the cool things about cloth diapering is that you almost don’t need wipies.  Many cloth diaperers use reusable wipes, but I haven’t purchased any, nor gotten around to making any, so I just have my plastic box of Huggies wipes.  Still, I hardly need any.  Unless that diaper is totally soggy or messy, there’s almost always a dry corner on which to wipe most of the muck off.  But then, I’m left with a baby not really messy enough for a whole wipe, but not totally fresh.

Right after I started cloth diapering (a whole three weeks and two days ago), I saw this:  Kissaluvs Diaper Lotion Potion.  It’s basically a healthy baby wipe in a spritzer.  But… it has tee tree oil, to which I’m allergic.  So, I thought I’d make my own.  In my first version, I used baby (mineral) oil, and that pretty much confirmed to me that Fiala’s skin is hypersensitive to petroleum-based oils, which I had suspected from lotions we have tried on her.  My second version is much better!  It works wonderfully, and smells heavenly.  I have made it with both water and witch hazel.  They both work fine, but witch hazel does have soothing, anti-inflammatory that would be especially helpful for diaper rash.

NOTES:  An ounce is 2 Tbsp.  If you use a full ounce, it is a little more expensive, of course, but it stays fully emulsified.  It will look a bit thick, but it still sprays nicely.  If you use ½ ounce of the olive oil and aloe vera gel, you’ll have to give it a shake before using.

If you go to the “travel size” section of Target, most of the clear bottles are 3 oz size, since that’s the maximum amount of liquid you can use in a carry-on bag.  I paid $0.99 for a 3 oz bottle, which seemed way overpriced, but, oh well.

Karen’s Diaper Wipe Potion in a Spritzer

  • one squirt of a paraben-free, natural liquid handsoap (I used Pure & Natural Rosemary and Mint — it smells heavenly)
  • ½ – 1 oz pure aloe vera gel
  • ½ – 1 oz olive oil
  • a drop or two of essential oil, if you’d like
  • water or witch hazel to fill the rest of the bottle

With a funnel or a careful hand, add all ingredients except the water/witch hazel to a 3 or 4 oz spritzer bottle.  Add enough water/witch hazel to fill bottle about 3/4 full, and shake to combine.  Top off, and shake again.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 17, 2009, in Babies, Cloth Diapering. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Castile soap works beautifully too and is very mild. We’ve also used a tiny squirt of California Baby Super Sensitive with aloe and witch hazel to pour over cloth wipes in a tub… I like them for everything, quick face and hand wipes, etc… Perfect to keep in the car!

    I’ve never thought of a spritz… But would be great to keep in my handbag for all kinds of quick clean ups!!!

    • Jamie ~ I’m guessing you mean liquid castile, right? Your wipe solution sounds very similar to mine! Did you get the idea from somewhere, or make it up? I was just talking with a friend, telling her I constantly re-invent the wheel, working endlessly refining a recipe or technique, only to find out later that it’s been done well, long ago, by someone else! 😀

  2. what a great idea!

    do you use this instead of getting the wipes wet? b/c some to think I kinda like that idea i think… hmm…

    it seems like you are settling right into this cloth diapering business 🙂

    • Yes, Laura. If half of the diaper that I’m taking off of her is still dry, I’ll just squirt her buns and wipe it off with a dry tail of the diaper. But, if the diaper is too soaked or messy, lately, I’ve been grabbing my thinnest “backup” diapers and wiping her down with them, after I’ve squirted her buns with the lotion potion.

  3. I had tried several baby lotion found in generic supermarkets and stores and I remember I liked them until I did research on how many chemicals are in them. I dont want those chemicals on my baby’s skin!!

    I use the Made from Earth skincare products now for my kid – specifically the Lavender Calm lotion. I am loving it because it does not have a penetrating scent…any lotions that smell too strong like fragrence have too much perfumes makes me wonder about the hypoallergenic claim. Since Made from Earth doesnt use chemicals or fragrances all their stuff is hypoallergetic…go for the Lavender Calm lotion if you are looking for a great Non Toxic baby lotion. . .

  1. Pingback: Things I’ve learned in my vast experience of 3 1/2 weeks of cloth diapering « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

