Laying books down, the girl in yellow, muffins, margarine, and knocking Classical education down from its pedestal

  • I think I’m going to stop reading Wuthering Heights.  It is just unrelentingly disturbing that it’s making me crabby.  I did flip through the last few chapters, and it appears that “peace” is achieved by the main characters dying.  I’m on page 180 of 415, so I feel like I’ve given the book more than a passing chance, but I’m just not woman enough for it, apparently, even though it’s a blow to my ego and my quest to be Well Read.  The only other book that I can recall doing similarly with was For Whom the Bell Tolls.  If I’m barking at my children because a book is bothering me, well, then I need to lay it down.  My pride needs to be knocked down periodically, anyways.
  • Rather testing my 7yo son to see how much he noticed, in the quiet chat before praying for him last night, I remarked casually, “[your sweetie] wasn’t wearing pink yesterday.”  He replied, “Nope.  She was in yellow.”  😀
  • I have made three batches of gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free muffins.  One was great — Saturday’s apple raisin spice muffins.  I’ve also made two much-less-pleasing batches — pineapple coconut and chocolate cranberry.  Up until these batches (and other recipes like biscuits and crackers), I’d never purposefully made egg-free baked goods, but find myself needing to, because of Fiala.  One out of three… not great, but at least the good batch was for our big family breakfast on Saturday!  Of course, I did not write down the recipe…  That frequently happens:  I stumble upon a concoction that is brilliant, then spend the rest of my days unsuccessfully trying to duplicate it.
  • In semi-related news, Earth Balance Soy Free is FANTASTIC.  It tastes like real butter, and is a billion times better than Smart Balance, which I’ve used for a couple of years, due to dairy-free necessity.   But, now that we have to be soy-free, too, I’m elated that our only option for butter-like soy- and dairy-free margarine is delicious.
  • I’ve had mild homeschool envy for folks whose children are classically educated.  I have considered a classical education, and have decided that it would make like difficult for both mother and children;  mine are just not inclined that way, and I’m not going to force them to be scholarly;  I just want them to learn, love learning, and become learners for life.  Still.  When my Memoria Press catalog comes in the mail, I peruse it with wistfulness, and always feel just a little… not-so-smart as classical homeschool moms, and wonder if I’ve made the right decision.  It was with, then, a disproportionate sense of satisfaction that I noticed, on page 2 of the most recent issue, that the editor, in his “Letter From the Editor,” misspelled “amalgam.”  He spelled it “amalgum.”  And no one at Memoria Press caught it.  Hmph.  They’re NOT all that.  😀  (Note:  I am 100% certain I’ve misspelled words on this blog;  I’m not without grammatical error, either.  However, it felt strangely good — and maybe it was even beneficial! — to have Memoria knocked down from that pedestal in my mind.)
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 27, 2009, in Books I'm Reading, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GFCF, gluten-free, Homeschooling, Motherhood, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Have you tried any of Sue Gregg’s recipes? From what I understand, eggs are optional in some of her batters. She has a flax substitute for eggs, too. (Hope I didn’t misspell anything! *grin*)

    • I haven’t tried any of Sue Gregg’s stuff — partly because she’s only partially gluten-free, and partially because I’d have to order a bunch of stuff online (like grains) in order to make them… and then I’d want a Vita-Mix… and then it would get super-costly. So, I just don’t go there.

      I laughed when I read your last remark. I’m glad you were grinning!!!! Better than ducking and running!!! 😀

  2. I tried the classical approach our first year of homeschooling. It was an utter disaster! Due to being constantly busy with my GFCF cooking, I have switched to a boxed curriculum. Not sure if I will ever go back to putting my own together. The boxed set has worked well for the past four years.

    Betsy

    • Yeah, I’m somewhere in the middle. I guess, technically, Sonlight could be called a boxed set… but some of the hs’ing curricula out there are SO parent-uninvolved, and that seems to defeat the purpose for me. I want to sit and read to my kids. I want to talk with them. I want them to look into my eyes when they answer questions, not just click a box on the computer screen. HOWEVER, as I go along, I am definitely seeing the value in mixing it up a bit! For instance, my two older boys will be doing Teaching Textbooks, and that is a CD-ROM system… so, you definitely have to do what works for you as a family.

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    I laughed about the editors typo.

    Your suspicions about the book are correct yet the “peace” achieved by the death of the main characters is only minimally satisfied. Did that make any sense? I believe the author was disturbed therefore the book does not resolve itself and is a reflection of the personal struggles behind the writing.

    • Yeah, it’s hard for me to think that anyone… totally at peace in her own spirit, could write that book. In the copy I have, Emily’s sister Charlotte basically defended her sister’s saneness and Christianity. She may indeed have been both. But, it seems like such a negative view of the world and of humanity!! I just couldn’t hack it, no matter what Emily Bronte’s state of mind and spirit were.

      • glutenfree4goofs

        Probably born out of serious sadness or loss. I can understand the struggling with our own “humanity” and wondering what it is all for even with a loving Father. Even King David wondered at times. I’m sure she could be both sane and Christian but her writing reflects deep stains.

  4. We just attended the AFHE convention a week ago, and we fell in love with My Father’s World curriculum. It’s a multiple-approach/blend of classical, unit studies, and more! A lot like Sonlight. The goal of learning is to love to learn, right? So, if/when we can afford to buy their books, we will… until then, we are hitting up the library!
    Take care!

    • Ha! The AFHE convention. I have never been. I get way overwhelmed with, “So much to teach, so little time!” I have heard a lot of good things about MFW curric, though. I like how there is an emphasis on multi-age schooling. I mean, I MAKE my SL do that, and there is help for combining years on the SL forums, but it’s not specifically designed to be multi-child.

  5. I think you can substitute cream of tartar for eggs, from what I hear.

    • I’d never heard of that! I’ll have to look that up. I have Ener-G egg replacer (basically cellulose gum), and that seems to work well, but if there are any other egg-free tips, it looks like I’m going to need them for a while!

Leave a Reply

