This is for you, Christy!

Happy girl!

Happy girl!

(Taken with my phone.  I can NEVER get good pics from my phone.  My Dad is working on my “real” camera, which hopefully isn’t permanently out of service…)

Yeah, the pic is a little fuzzy, but Fiala’s skin looks great.  It is probably about 80% cleared up.  However, that’s because I’ve been using Protopic on it, which is a topical immunosupressant.  Yes, it works.  But the bummer is that it is just masking whatever is going on inside of her that is making her skin all chewed up!  (Plus, according to the website, it’s not supposed to be used at all on children younger than two, and young children should be using the 0.03% strength.  Fiala is 9 months and on the 0.1% strength.  Hm.)

I probably should be happier about the success of Protopic… But, though it helps her skin, it doesn’t help her g.i. tract, which is still out of whack, though not as bad as it was, say, a month ago.

Yesterday, I was thinking, and the ONLY thing that I am 100% certain that she digests well and that causes no problem is beans.  Even pears seem to trouble her.  And maybe even rice.  ~sigh~  I don’t know.  I hope we get some good answers from her next allergist appointment, which is on the 12th.

Fiala’s also sick.  We literally have gone NO WHERE since last Sunday (though we just got back from picking my dear husband up at the airport;  he was gone all weekend in Minnesota leading worship at a mini-worshp conference; we missed him so), but somehow, she came down with a bit of a cough Thursday night, and now she’s got a fever, the cough, and congestion in her nose and lungs.  She squeals when she sees the bulb syringe.  :tears:  Still, though, she’s such a sweet and happy baby.  In the pic above, she was belly laughing at Grant who was playing peek-a-boo with her.

It was so precious to hear her say, very distinctly, “Da Da Da Dee,” over and over when we picked up Martin from the airport.  She also says Ma-ma and Ma-mee; “Eeefff” for Ethan; “Tdzee” (almost a soft “g”) for Grant (whom we frequently call “G” or G-Ray); “Buh buh” for Wesley — not sure about that one, maybe “brother.”  She doesn’t have a name for Audrey yet.  🙂

Almost NONE of the hand-me-down clothes from Audrey fit Fiala!  I just bought two outfits on eBay for her (Gymboree, the top she’s wearing above was new with tags, the other items very gently used, for $9 with shipping!  I was pleased.)…  I looked closely at the pics to make sure the bottoms looked WIDE.  I think she’s thicker around than Audrey, PLUS she’s wearing cloth diapers, which makes her wider.  Yesterday, Audrey had on (for play) a skirt that was SIX MONTHS size, and it fit her fine, though it was short.  Today, her skirt was size 18 months.  I’m not complaining;  it’s nice to have a chunky baby.  It just makes my clothing options for her very limited!!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 2, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Cloth Diapering, Medical Stuff, Missions and ministry, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Travelling, Vineyard Phoenix, Worship. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. She looks beautiful! She’s talking already? My babies always want to wait until they are potty training to start talking. Slight exaggeration, but still major frustrations! Anyway…

    I’m not sure if you want someone telling you something to be thankful for or if you’ll want to ban me from you blog…but when my babe had skin/allergy issues like Fiala…he was MISERABLE! CRIED, ARCHED, NO SLEEP…for about 9 months! Ugh.

    He’s better now and is 3….so if you want to arrange a future marriage…he’s very tenderhearted and sweet now! 🙂 (I was feeling that I was seeing his personality during that time…so thankful that is NOT who he is!)

    • Both Audrey, and now Fiala, talked way earlier than any of my three boys.

      And no, you won’t ever be banned from my blog — you’re so kind! I do think you should get your own blog — NOT because you come here so often, but because you’re a great writer with lots of good ideas.

      Speaking of no sleep… she’s up again, after napping for… oh, 20 minutes. 😦

  2. Oh what a wonderful sight. I can understand the frustration of not knowing what is causing it though. Because it seems like if you can’t figure it then it will just come back later when you stop using the meds.

    She is such a gorgeous baby though! Koala just started saying the mamama sounds. Lioness said your little Fiala is a beautiful baby.

    I will continue to pray that you will find all the answers concerning her skin.

  3. We have to use Protopic sometimes with the Princess. Being that it is another form of her immunosuppressant, I use it vary sparingly. Praying that answers would come your way soon!

Leave a Reply

