I heart World Magazine

I just sent a letter to the editor of World Magazine.

I was so thrilled when my Stepdad purchased a subscription of World for my husband and me. I read each issue cover to cover. (The subscription is in my husband’s name, but I’m the one who consumes it!) I very much appreciate your mix of national, world, and Church news, human interest, a broad spectrum of entertainment information, and essays; I completely enjoy the format and multiple focuses that you employ. And, it’s all produced in a HIGH QUALITY manner, with a Christian perspective, yet one that is never parroting a particular platform, nor denigrating those with opposite viewpoints.

I have given away almost every back issue from this past year; each person to whom I’ve given a copy is invariably pleasantly surprised that there is a news magazine with an outlook such as World’s. (I know that my gifts to others has resulted in at least one subscription. I’m happy to spread the word!)

The August 1, 2009 issue is my favorite so far. Every article on every topic read as relevant, powerful, important, interesting, and insightful. It’s hard to pick a favorite, but I particularly appreciated the profile of Senator Jim DeMint, and the article about urban planning. Too often, people who are very conservative are firebrands; it was a JOY to read of Sen. DeMint’s humble, yet principled efforts on behalf of South Carolina and our whole country. (I now have a quote from Sen. DeMint, gleaned from your article, on my blog.) My husband’s job is in the homebuilding industry as a home designer, and I am a former architecture major; it was extremely interesting, and very encouraging, to read, from a Christian perspective, what will hopefully be the way on for city planning.

My lone (and small) quibble with World magazine is that sometimes, Marvin Olasky’s articles are bloated and poorly edited. Obviously, I very much enjoyed his article on urban planning, as described above, but in general, I think that as editor-in-chief, he is perhaps given a bit too much leeway, and his works would benefit from someone(s) sifting through his stories to give them better focus.

Thank you very much for all your efforts to produce such a stellar, worthwhile product.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 5, 2009, in Magazines, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love it that you wrote them with feedback. it’s good to let people know when they do well!

  2. I giggled just a little because this came right after the nice man and the cd. hehehe

    I am sure that he deserved what he got though.

    I often try to let people know when i enjoy, appreciate, etc. what they are doing.

    That is such a great letter!

  3. It does actually parrot a platform and does word things in such a way as to denigrate opposing viewpoints. I can barely make myself read it at all sometimes, and sometimes consider dropping the magazine entirely. We don’t subscribe- it’s a gift from FIL. We keep it around for use in discussing current events and media with our teen. However, I find myself writing letters to the editor occasionally to protest the way they’ve reported on certain topics which come from, or lead to, bias.

    • Well, they have a platform, as in a set of beliefs, certainly. But, it’s not the Republican Party platform. It’s more like the Calvinist “platform.” But, I still think they do well to not bash anyone who doesn’t agree with them… it’s just that they come with their own sets of assumptions, and if one doesn’t agree with those assumptions, well, you just have to continue to filter as you would with any other form of media, Christian or not.

      I don’t think it’s wrong to have STRONG beliefs; and that, they do. But, I haven’t found them to be gratingly strident or firebrand-ish or anything like that. They’re careful, but… yes, if one is pro-abortion you’ll likely be uncomfortable reading it. But, OTOH, if you’re a total isolationist, closed-border, mega-social conservative, you’re going to be uncomfortable reading it, as well. (All of those “you”s meaning a general you. Not YOU, Amy.)

      I’d be interested in knowing what articles or statements or viewpoints bothered you, Amy.

Leave a Reply

