Sober

Feeling very sober about the health of my friend Erin’s new baby.  She was air-evac’d last night to a hospital with a NICU.  In the less-than-12 hours since that event, though, she’s already doing better.  Still, she will likely be there for a week more.  Erin is hearbroken.  I’m very sad.  Her hubby was able to bring Erin’s milk to the new hospital, so they’re feeding her that, which is good.  And, Erin hopes to be discharged this afternoon (1-2 days early) so that the family can all be reunited at the new hospital, which, by all accounts, has much better accomodations for the baby, and much more room in the NICU for parents to spend time in with their baby.

😦

More prayers, please.

It always makes me so pleased when, as a church (my local church) rally to help a family in need… There has been lots of prayer, lots of concern, lots of visits to both mom and dad and baby, lots of people offering to make meals for the family…

Still.

I’m so sad.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 8, 2009, in Babies, Birth, Friendships, Medical Stuff, Sad Things, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m so sorry about how that went, but I agree that it is moving when the body works together to support someone in a time of need like that.

    God is good!

  2. I think that what makes it harder is that this is supposed to be a time of such great celebration – welcoming a new life into the world – and instead it is a time of such worry.

    They are all in my thoughts and prayers. I will be looking forward to updates from you.

  3. Our prayers are with Erin and her precious sprout!!!

  4. still praying for them…

  5. So sorry about Erin. So disappointing when you have a plan and idea of how your birthing experience is going to be and it not only doesn’t go the way you thought, but then it takes a scary turn as well. Sounds like they are working to do everything possible for the best care for Momma and baby. I know your church family will love and care for them in every way possible. Keep us posted. We are praying!

    Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

