Good signs

  • The most recent report on baby Abigail is that today, Monday, is the best day yet of her nearly five days of life.  It’s by second-hand report, but from what I heard, she’s off of antibiotics and oxygen, and is NURSING without throwing up!!!!  Bless God!  She still needs prayer — on Saturday, I was elated at her improvment, then she had some backward progress, so I don’t want to let up.
  • Our dog is doing better, too!  In case you don’t remember, she has Valley Fever, which is actually a fungal infection.  In the blood test for Valley Fever, they measure eight levels, and Tally was at the 7th of 8 levels — very severe (I’m not sure exactly what they measure, but whatever “it” is, it doubles — 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, and 256, which is often death, and anything beyond 256 is near-certain death;  Tally was 128).  The vet was pretty grim about her long-term health, and had us geared up for 1-2 years of medication to get her back on track.  But less than four months later, she has been off of anti-inflammatory/pain meds for nearly two months, and she is down to the 4th level, or 16.  Sixteen sounds WAY better than 128.  She’ll still be on fluconazole for at least 3 more months, but we are so happy that we have our healthy, happy dog back.  She has also gained four pounds back, which is a lot for a dog of her size.  Yay!  I used to think it was yuppie/stupid to spend a great deal of money on a pet.  I still don’t think that pet = family, though I don’t look down on those who do, Kathy!!  It’s just not my paradigm.  However, we’ve spent well over $500 nursing Tally back to health, and I’m just glad that since we overhauled our budget this past winter, that spending money on Tally doesn’t mean we don’t have food for groceries or anything like that.  I bless God that we’ve had the money to nurse her to health, and not just give her palliative care, which is sort of the view my parents had regarding sick pets.
  • One of the things I got for this very-fast-approaching school year is Typing Instructor.  I got version 16, which was a lot cheaper than the most recent version.  Anyways.  It came on Friday, and Ethan has been “playing” it as much as I’ll let him, ever since.  He’s already boosted his average wpm from about 12 to 18.  It’s a good sign, I think, when your child is begging to do more “schoolwork.”  😀
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 10, 2009, in Babies, Birth, Budget, Dogs, Homeschooling, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am so thankful that Abigail is doing so much better. I have been praying since I recieved your email.

    I am glad the dog is doing better too. We had to have a puppy put down once because she had Distemper and was just about gone. We cried for weeks. But on the other hand it is hard for me to want to spend lots of money on animals (particularly a certain guinea pig that lived here awhile).

    I hope the typing program continues to be lots of fun for them. We have a Mavis Beacon one that the kids love. Especially the 7 and 4 yo.

  2. Thanks for the nod, Karen, on family and dogs. Thanks for the freedom to be different – different lives, different circumstances create different values. On inducing/no inducing: this is how you get experience, and experience is what makes you an eventual expert. Unfortunately, experience often comes with pain. So – expertise comes with pain. That’s the good and bad news. Keep gaining experience, and you will become a very good birth coach! I love you, and I’m oh-so-for you. Kathy

Leave a Reply

