They look good….

but the gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free crust was as hard as a rock. So, the grown-ups (Martin and I and our dinner guests) scooped out the blueberry filling, and the kids gnawed on the crust. Thankfully, only a couple teeth were broken. 😉 [EDITED TO ADD — In re-reading this, it sounds like I’m saying the adults ate the insides and we tossed the crusts to the kids!  That’s not what happened!!  Everyone ate pie, but only the kids had the fortitude to try eating the crusts, too.  We adults just banged the crust with our forks and laughed at the “ting ting” sound!] And the main dish — Cuban black beans and pork with rice, a newer family fave, the recipe sent to me by a reader, Tina — DID turn out great, so not everything was a disaster. We all hung out on Friday night until 10:30 and very much enjoyed ourselves.

0814091416

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Friendships, Funny Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. They do look good!

    ~Luke

  2. well… that LOOK fabulous anyhow 😉

    maybe cobblers would be an easier go? I was thinking of trying one myself this week… of course my old standby was oatmeal and pecans… right now i”m staying away from nuts and oatmeal doesn’t work for me – I know some celiacs are ok with it… but not me. lucky me. I miss oatmeal something awful.

    ok so I had a thought for you… I was looking up something for V and i stumbled across something that may or may not apply to your little one. Have you seen si she is Biotin deficient? apparently facial rashes excema that are unexplained can stem from that. just a thought. not trying to through more research work your way… I only mention it b/c I know how much you’re struggling with her rash and how much you don’t want to be using anti-biotics.

    • Cobbler… Mmmm… I haven’t had much success with g.f. cobbler, though! And GFCF, plus egg-free… I just didn’t want to try it. I can’t do oats, either. I LOVE pecans, though.

      I Googled biotin and eczema… Obviously, Fiala has face and body eczema, but the other symptoms of biotin deficiency she doesn’t have at all. http://thelifesupportcompany.com/biotin.php Lack of nutrients could definitely be a source of the problem, though. More and more, I’m considering switching all my kids from their pediatrician to my new family practitioner who looks FIRST to nutrient deficiency for the cause of various health problems. Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

