Free swingset in “great” shape, and other weekend adventures

  • Note to self, for the billionth time:  When someone offers something that’s in “great condition” on Freecycle, please don’t get your hopes up.  😦  I was so excited that a fellow Freecycler offered a big wooden playset in “great” shape.  We had been talking about getting a playset for outdoors… but don’t have the $400-$10,000 that wooden ones typically go for, new.  Even on Craigslist, the cheapest they go for are around $150, and those are the ones in really bad condition.  Ones in good condition never go for less than $350, and that’s just too much money.  So, enticed by the “great” free one, Martin went out there on Saturday to disassemble it and cart it home.  He called to report that one of the swing’s seats were totally split, the wood was rotting and super-splintered, and he doubted that he could even unbolt it!  We passed.  Oh, well.
  • My friend Erin’s baby finally came home from the hospital on Saturday evening after 9+ really long days.  Woo hoo!!!!
  • Fiala has been on generic Omnicef since Wednesday, but when I dropped her off at the church nursery and mentioned a staph infection on her skin… well, they were understandably concerned.  I had long pants on her, and told them not to change her diaper, to just call me if her diaper needed changing…  However, they were still freaked out, and asked me to come get her as soon as worship was over, as I was singing.  I did, and they had her quarantined in a room by herself!!  I took her into the back of “big church,” but as she kept hollering — very sweetly, but very loudly — to EVERYONE, “Hah-ah!  Hah-ah” (which means ‘hi’), I decided to just go home.  I took Audrey with me, too… and the same girl who didn’t want to stay in the nursery earlier that day, didn’t want to leave when I came to get her!  Fickle little girl, Audrey is.
  • I love Sunday evenings.  Well, all of Sundays, actually.  Church, lunch, then the kids go into quiet time while Martin and I nap or watch sports, then we often have a “Galaga challenge” with a plug’n’play TV/arcade game console thing we have, then we often head outside in the late afternoon or early evening.  When the weather is really nice, I take all the kids for a walk around the neighborhood… the view at the end of the road is just gorgeous.  But, here in the summertime, I have to wait until the sun is almost-set, and it’s “only” like 100° or so, and long shadows are cast, and we head down the street the the little neighborhood park.  Most often, we stop at a friend’s house on the way, and invite them to come with.  Occasionally, a mom with come, too, and I’ll particularly enjoy the time, dandling Fiala on my knee, talking with another mom…  I got a fabulous picture of Audrey, looking deceptively sweet and peaceful, at the park yesterday evening, but for some reason, the picture upload button isn’t working;  I’ll have to add it later.  (Can you tell by my language that Audrey is driving me a bit nuts lately????  ~sigh~  In some ways, she is so amazingly precious, and in some ways, I could easily pull all my hair out in frustration with her… antics.)
  • We were going to start school today, but I’m just not ready.  Plus, we have three appointments at the allergist’s office for Fiala this week (the first was this morning), and it just makes it too much for me to be gone for 2-3 hours PLUS school.  Fiala now has 30 “dots” on her back sandwiching potential food allergens to her skin, which is then covered up by two layers of medical tape.  It frankly makes me a sick to the stomach, because positive reactions end up looking like blisters, and I’m certain she’s going to have positive reactions to something, likely more than one something.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 17, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Family, Friendships, Homeschooling, Life in the Desert, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Parenting, Shopping, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix, Weather. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I always forget that little line when I see something that I really want.

    I was at a slumber party last weekend and we asked a girl not to come because she had MRSA. The mom was a little miffed but we (my friend and I that did the party) felt their were too many other people there to make it safe. On the other hand my dad had MRSA and we were around him all the time with no problem.

    We have started a family time on Sunday evenings that the kids really enjoy. If something comes up and we miss it they beg to re-schedule.

  2. Yeah, about MRSA… I don’t know that it is. At this point, it’s “just” staph/impetigo. But, I don’t blame the nursery staff for being cautious. In fact, I almost stayed home with Fiala in the first place, just in case…

Leave a Reply

