Toilet paper, nick names, losing weight, P&P, and old friends :)

  • Anyone have any suggestions for inexpensive but nice toilet paper?  The way we go through toilet paper makes installing a bidet seem like a cost-effective idea.
  • Our toilet paper situation is not helped by Audrey.  We have discovered that she, pleased with her 3yo dexterity and skill, regularly removes and throws away partially-used rolls, just so that she can install a new one.  This is one of those situations where I almost wish that I was the one doing all the chores, so I would have more oversight and catch these things more quickly.  The boys, “Oh, yeah… lots of times there are half rolls of toilet paper in the trash!”
  • Fiala’s nickname has become “Fifa.”  FEE-fuh.  Like FIFA, but with a great deal more sweet chubbiness.
  • I have determined that losing 10 pounds is enough to make one’s jeans fit much more loosely, but not really enough for anyone to notice… not even one’s husband.  Still, I weigh less now than I have in at least five years, and even if my trimness is imaginary, I feel quite good about it.  And, I freely admit that the last three pounds have been shed in the last couple of weeks, where I have been completely at a loss about what to eat, given my baby’s multiple food allergies.
  • I am re-reading Pride and Prejudice, and though I don’t often read books more than once, I am thoroughly enjoying it;  it still seems fresh.  I am amazed at how much escaped my notice, the first time through (about a year ago).  And, just to pick a fight, the movie with Keira Knightly is INFINITELY better than the BBC version with Colin Firth.
  • And, Scott, if you’re reading, Martin says, “Hi!”  And, I don’t even remember you making me cry, so obviously, it didn’t do any permanent damage.  😉  And, you have cute kids.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 22, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Books I'm Reading, Friendships, Get Fit!, Housework, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I was just on my way to take a cold shower, because the hot water heater is broken, and thought I’d check bloglines before I go torture myself.

    I haven’t read this entire post yet, but “Keira Knightly” jumped out at me. I just watched that movie last weekend and had a really hard time returning it without watching it a third, nay, a fourth time! I borrowed the book from a friend and read that this week.

    Great book! Enjoy the read. 🙂

  2. Whole Foods make 100% recycled toilet paper. Get the double rolls in the 12-pack. If you get a case of them, you get 10% off.

  3. You KNOW I TOTALLY agree on the version of the P&P movie – it rocks! Shame on that old nasty boring PBS version. Ugg. Pooh. 🙂

    • It is silly how much of a contentment that our agreement on this matter brings to my heart!! Hehehe! If in conversation, someone sings the praises of Colin Firth’s Darcy, and I start questioning my judgement, I then think, “Well, KATHY agrees with me,” and that settles it. 🙂

  4. Oh, I have to disagree with the P&P movie. I thought the A&E version was thorough and true in keeping with the book and the period of that time. I didn’t enjoy the other version at all. There were too many “Hollywoodish” twists for my taste.

    Now about toilet paper. I find that Scott lasts longer. One roll can last much longer than other brands and it isn’t linty. I try to buy large packs when it’s on sale, but I usually buy it regardless.

    • I’m going to check both out from the library again. I think my MAIN dissent about the BBC version is that I cannot tolerate Colin Firth; I don’t see him as a tall, serious Darcy at ALL.

      When I read the book again (just finished last night!), I was keeping an eye out for disagreements between the book & the recent movie. I did see that on many occasions, they condensed things — turning events of two dances into one, or say, events from five occasions in Meryton into one scene, or a conversation of 20 lines was reduced to two or three of its most salient points, etc. But, other than the ending, it seems that they stay very true to the book. By “the ending” I mean that, in the book, Darcy was not with Bingley when he proposed to Jane, and that Darcy’s (2nd) proposal to Jane did not happen where they coincidentally meet in a field at sunup. And the “incandescently happy” line about being called “Mrs. Darcy” wasn’t in the book, either — a line which I like, btw. STILL. It does appear to me that the makers of the movie tried hard to have all the characters be true to Austen’s intentions, and speak dialogue at least 97% how she wrote it. I don’t think it was particularly Hollywoodized, either. On its run in the theaters, here in Phoenix, it ONLY showed in the art film houses. I had to drive 30 miles to see it!! Of course, it was the producers intentions to make a movie, and I think they advanced points as they saw fitting to the media form of a movie… AND, I don’t even begrudge them changing the scenes of the ending — my ONE and ONLY gripe with the way Austen wrote is that in all of her books (except maybe “Emma”) pulled the rug out from under her story’s climax. She builds and builds and builds with emotion and tension, then at the very point where the story should EXPLODE, she says something like, “And, of course, they were married.” Aaaaarrrgggghhhhh!!! Anticlimactic in its essence.

      And, even though I’m not really a Keira Knightley fan, I think she was perfect for the role — bright, with “fine eyes” though not a classic beauty in the… Grecian sense, and easily believable as witty, pertinent/lively Lizzy.

  5. It is hard to capture Austen’s style of writing into the perfect movie. I agree that the 2005 version was accurate, for the most part. The recent version was produced to appeal to a younger audience and get Hollywood nods. The 1995 version, which I have seen more times than I can count, made me want to read more Jane Austen. My main issue was with the character portrayals. I think the actors in the BBC version were at their best and gave stellar performances. I liked Colin Firth’s portrayal as Mr. Darcy, but then he was introduced to me as Darcy as I had not seen him in anything else prior to P&P. David Bamber was excellent as Mr. Collins. Concerning Keira Knightly, I’m not a fan either and I don’t find her entertaining. Her acting is below average. Her portrayal of Lizzy was disheveled and raw at times and all I saw was “Keira Knightly.” There is more to acting than celebrity. Donald Southerland didn’t impress me as Mr. Bennet. His and Mrs. Bennet’s brief frolic in the bed offended me and was disgraceful to Austen. That is what I considered “Hollywoodish.” Also, the level of giddyish behavior among the sisters seemed like American teen girls today and not prim proper 19th century English girls.

    The 2005 version had a lot to live up to and for me it didn’t. It just wasn’t as clean and delightful as the 1995 version, imo.

  1. Pingback: Answering your questions « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

