Civilization! It’s encroaching!

I like to pretend that I don’t really live in the 5th largest city in the nation.

Well, it’s more than pretend;  I live in one of its suburbs.

In a very far-flung region of one of its most outlying suburbs.

I’m not a city girl at heart, can you tell?

Even though I work to make certain to appreciate where I live, instead of resent it (as I used to), I still cling to the un-city aspects of my locale.  One of the things I’ve been fond of saying, since we moved to our current home (a number of years ago) is, “We’re 3½ miles from the nearest stoplight.”  Well, that is soon to be shortened by a mile.

I saw, yesterday, on my way to the grocery store, that the city is in the process of installing a stoplight.  Granted, it’s at a place that, frankly, needs a stoplight.  There’s not so much traffic, but such that there is, combined with a poorly engineered curve in the road, makes it so that it is very, very hard to turn against traffic at that intersection:  one has to wait a long time, and when one turns, have more than a little bit of faith that no one is going to come zooming over the hill and around the bend and t-bone one’s vehicle.

In my mind, I actually re-engineered the particular intersection, and had come up with a way to ease the flow of traffic, in such a way that would not require a stoplight.  Even though I went through that mental exercise more than a year ago, city planners never deigned to ask me what I thought about it, and had the audacity to install a stoplight.  ~sigh~

So, now I live 2½ miles from the nearest stoplight.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 24, 2009, in Life in the Desert, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. When I was 15 we lived in a small, quaint and charming town that didn’t even have a wal-mart. It had ONE stoplight. Of course since I had just left all my friends behind I didn’t really appreciate the wonder of it all. I do now and it is too late.

    I do remember the library though. It was small and in an old house that had been donated, on a gorgeous piece of land. It had old trees and we could ride our bikes over there and find a sweet place under a tree and read for hours.

    It is true that youth is wasted on the young. Or something like that. hehe!

    • And we only lived there one year. Because my dad transferred back to take care of his parents. It was in Missouri. Much prettier than my flat state.

    • That sounds lovely! Were you in eastern MO? I love it there along the Mississippi River — all hilly with scattered trees. ~sigh~

      A friend of my boys, who is also in Little League with them, stayed a month in a small town in North Dakota (don’t know where) with his cousins. He said it was awesome because they could go anywhere on their bikes, and there were “two restaurants: one with shakes and hamburgers, and one fancy restaurant with Mexican food” and they played all day in the small park and at the library, or down by the creek. His descriptions made me wistful. I was so pleased that he, as a 10yo boy, really appreciated it. He said something like, “I didn’t even miss my swimming pool or PlayStation.” 🙂

  2. glutenfree4goofs

    You are cute, this cracks me up! Even though I do live in the country I am still only 4 miles from the freeway and only 15min to town, yet I still call it “going to town” everyone laughs their heads off at me cause I like to imagine I’m SO far! It’s all in the eye of the beholder. Sorry about the stop light, I’ve thought of a similar solution to a stupid intersection in our town, instead they put in the “super left” which allows one lane to make three DIFFERENT left turns. Dumb!

Leave a Reply

