Irony

In my blog reader (which is actually a Firefox plug-in called Sage which manages RSS feeds), there is a blog which, every time I click it, I think, “If she’s blogging about her oldest child’s health again, I’m not going to read it.”  I even went so far as to wonder if she had Munchausen by proxy because though she has a number of kids, each blog post is fully about some aspect of one of her child”s illness, or if the post is about something else entirely, she will, no doubt, allude to it.  She’ll even post multiple times in one day, never neglecting to write about some aspect of the illness.

Makes me think, yet again, that God has an ironic sense of humor.  Because, guess what?  I have been so very overwhelmed by Fiala’s health issues that, even though there are a great many other things occurring in our lives, and even though I have four other kids, it’s all I can do to NOT write about the minutiae of her own illnesses.

Oh, the humility.  The act of being humbled, yet again, by parenting… seeing, yet again, some aspect of which I’ve stood in judgment of others, come and whop me upside the head in a remarkably similar fashion, and I find myself acting in the very same manner which I had scorned in someone else.

So, please be informed that I’m resisting the urge to blog yet another update about Fiala.

P.S.  I’m aware that this post places my attitudes in a most unflattering light, but I felt the need to confess.  Also, I don’t think said blogger has ever visited my blog, nor is she on my blogroll, so if you’re thinking, “I think she means me!” you can be assured that I’m not referring to you.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 24, 2009, in Character Development, Christian Living, Medical Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I too have eaten my share of humble pie! I remember babysitting and thinking…don’t these kids EVER eat anything other than mac n cheese? Well, now I see…who wants to cook real food when you’re having date night with your hubby!?

    And what about the crumbs and such under the table…couldn’t you vacuum??? Well, who knew there is a magnet under there for tidbits of food? And who knew there was a purpose for it…with 4 kids…who has time to get the baby some finger food…it’s an instant buffet. Perfect!

  2. Remember recently when I blogged how I judge others by what’s in their shopping cart?

    Well, for a party I was throwing for my sister (an adoption shower) we had a “happy childhood” theme with a vintage flair (Dick and Jane decorations). Guess what we served, that I had to buy, piling my shopping cart with……..

    Twinkies
    Hostess Cupcakes
    Wonder Bread
    Oscar Meyer Bologna
    Etc!

    I almost wanted to wear a disguise at the grocery store or drive to the other side of town to a store where I never usually shop so no one would see the disaster in the cart!

    Humble pie……

  3. (((hugs))) please never feel like you can’t post about fiala! it has never seemed to me like you were whining or being “woe is me”. you’re just explaining the goings ons. nothing at all wrong with that!

    to be honest i like that you post about it b/c i always find out interesting ideas. it gives me things to think about to help my boy. and it’s all fascinating. (maybe I’m weird) plus, it lets me get to know you in a much more real way. no sense in pretending to be something you’re not. if this is what you’re dealing with now… then be that.

  4. newbeginnings09

    Isn’t it always funny how life swings back to you like this? I have to admit, at times I don’t blog when I desperately need to, because I’m sure someone out there is rolling their eyes going, doesn’t that woman have a life beyond her husband’s mental illness.
    Well, no, actually I don’t. It’s all consuming when someone you love so very very much is so sick! So, blog away honey. It relieves stress!
    Ade

  5. I’ll admit, Karen, that I’ve skimmed over several of your update posts. I care, but I don’t have anything to say, and I feel dumb saying the same thing over and over. But hang in there, and I’ll keep you and your daughter in my prayers!

    ~Luke

  6. “give ‘m something to talk about”. At the sage old age of 53 and the “little” wisdom I have gathered, no mater what you do or how you do it, someone out there is going to judge you for it. Dennis Bourns preached a good sermon once about how people fail us and how we fail others. As Christians, we know as we repent our sins are forgiven, just as God forgive the sins of others. HE is the judge, not us. But how do we HANDLE the failure of others and how do we HANDLE our own failures is what God looks at in HIS effort to bring us up the road to maturity in Him. Sounds like to me “growing pains” in maturity, and you ARE growing and maturing in your relationship to HIM. Sooooooo…… blog away. Be true to yourself and your integrity to your relationship to HIM. You never know if you are quenching the Holy Spirit and His effor to use you in your blog. You obviously understand you are “out there” in the blog world and your heart cares and you must also pray about what you blog, so do let this blip in the radar stop you from being you.

  7. Should have said “don’t” let this blip on the radar stop you from being you.

    You obviously understand you are “out there” in the blog world and your heart cares and you must also pray about what you blog, so do let this blip in the radar stop you from being you.

Leave a Reply

