Private Purple

So.  The Nystatin powder which Fiala’s doctor prescribed last Monday was working somewhat, but not well.  I decided to call the office to see if he would call in a prescription for Nystatin cream.  The problem with the powder was, since we rinse her bum off in the sink after virtually every diaper change, and we change her diaper after every time she pees, she’s getting her rear end washed about 15-20 times a day, but we can’t use the nystatin more than three times per day.  We’d put it on, it’d get rinsed right off.

But, for reasons unknown, the doctor’s phone line (I tried two different numbers) was busy all day yesterday.  Then, late in the afternoon, I had a revelation:  gentian violet.  Fiala has a diaper rash yeast infection, but I remember treating Audrey, when she was a baby, with gentian violet for thrush.  Both are yeast infections.  I Googled it, and sure enough:  you can use gentian violet for diaper rash yeast infection.

I called my local Walgreen’s.  Yes, they had one bottle left of it, behind the counter at the pharmacy.  I stopped in before my chiropractor appointment to pick it up.  While in line, I saw that some Zyrtec, normally $12.99, that was on clearance for $3.29.  Why?  Because it was labeled as a remedy for hives, which I guess either Zyrtec is phasing out, or Walgreen’s is discontinuing.  I compared strength and ingredients to the “normal” Zyrtec, and the two products were identical.

I’d been going back and forth about whether or not to start Fiala on Zyrtec, in lieu of Benedryl (Benedryl — time-tested, effective, safe.  But, having to squirt 1/2 tsp down her throat 3-4x/day on “bad” days is such a bummer.  Treating her once a day with Zyrtec is starting to look better and better to me…).  So, seeing it cheap on the shelf made it seem like a good opportunity.  I grabbed a bottle, fully pleased with myself that I had renewed hope for Fiala’s health, on the cheap.  

On Walgreen’s website, 1 oz of 1% gentian violet was $3.29.  So, I was thinking I could get out of there for less than $10 for both items.  The pharmacy tech fetches the gentian violet.  It’s a 2 oz bottle.  He rings up both items.  Fifteen bucks and change.  What?  The gentian violet was $11.39.  Ummm…. why??  I don’t know.  That chaps my hide when an item is one price online, and a different price in the store.  So, it was a wash.  I got Zyrtec for the price of gentian violet, and gentian violet for the price of Zyrtec.

In my mind, I heard… well, have you ever been to a baseball game, and one of your guys smacks the ball, gives it a ride, and you hear a general, loud and excited, “YYYYEEEEEAAAAAAAAA…” and then the opposing outfielder catches the ball right at the fence, and the crowd noise weakly tapers off into an, “…aaawww”?  I literally heard that, in my head.

When I complained about the price discrepancy to my husband, he said, “Well, if it works, that will be the best $15 we’ve ever spent.  It’s cheaper online, but then you have to pay for shipping and wait five days.”  OK.  He’s right.

I pulled on some gloves as soon as I got home, and got out a cotton ball, and painted Fiala’s entire diaper area BRIGHT DEEP INKY PURPLE.  Try as we might to keep her still, she somehow got purple all over her hands, legs, feet, and shirt.  Oh, well.  I thought, “It’s worth it if it works.”

After she went to bed, I Googled a little bit more on gentian violet.  Come to find out IT IS EFFECTIVE ON IMPETIGO, TOO!!!  Impetigo.  A staph infection on the skin.  That’s the whole reason we had her on antibiotics in the first place, which led to her awful, terrible yeast infection.  In other words, three weeks ago, I could have daubed some purple junk behind her knees, and avoided this whole protracted, painful, highly medicated, time consuming few weeks.  Grr.  I would so much have rather dealt with messy purple legs than having a round of antibiotics, then THREE antifungals, plus a houseful of other natural remedies to try to combat the resulting yeast infection.

So, yes, we have a whole bunch of purple diapers now, and I don’t know if that will come out.  But, in a mere twelve hours — TWELVE HOURS — her yeast infection, which she’s had for TWO WEEKS — TWO WEEKS — is nearly gone.  I feel like linking to some awful pictures of babies with yeast infection rashes, so as to help y’all understand the relief (and consternation!) I feel about this whole situation.  But, the online pics of babies with yeast infections are so bad, they turn one’s stomach.  Fiala’s was… oh, about 70% as bad as the worst ones I’ve seen online.  Her doctor called it “extreme.”

Please.  Learn from me.

Impetigo?  Treat it with gentian violet.

Yeast infection?  Treat it with gentian violet.

So what if it stains a bunch of clothes or diapers???  So what if your husband calls your baby Private Purple and giggles about it???  🙄  It’s worth it.

~sigh~

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 1, 2009, in Babies, Budget, Cloth Diapering, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Parenting, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. private purple!!! hahaha

    ok that is awesome to know. I’m keeping a tab on this post incase I ever need it. I’m so happy she is healing – a yeast infection like that cannot be comfortable!

    p.s. we just started the SCD diet… are you familiar with it? I can’t say much about it yet, but Ven has been HAPPY the last two days. and not puked much at all. I have lost 3-4 lbs which is awesome. love that! but really. the true test for me is if I stop having stomach problems. we’ll see… (I’ve tried EVERYTHING else)

  2. I love GV anyway, for thrush. I never even bothered the dr with my fourth baby, just started painting us all purple. I’m glad to know it works for lots of other things too. You’re such a weath of info, thanks!

  3. Wow, that is really something! Praise God for providing for treatment of yeast in its various forms!

    Would that work for athlete’s foot, I wonder? Do you know off the top of your head if there are any contraindications?

    • I haven’t tried it, but I did read that it will work for athlete’s foot, too. It will safely kill nearly everything bacterial or fungal. It will even treat canker sores in the mouth.

      The only contraindications are that if taken internally in large quantities, there are some suggestions that it might increase the risk of bladder cancer. But there’s really no reason to take it internally in large quantities. And, of course, it makes everything purple, so if you use it on AF, make sure your son is wearing old socks!! But, other than that, there is a long, long history of its safe use. I have read reports of GV stinging… but I think that might be because it’s commonly mixed with alcohol. The kind we have is 10% alcohol, and it does not seem to be uncomfortable to Fiala.

  4. Just tried this on my son’s horrid purple welt diaper rash thanks to your blog! I’m hoping it will do the trick.

    Just figured I’d let you know that a couple of my local Walgreens here in NY didn’t stock it, a few do carry it, but were out of stock… finally I found it in-store at a local CVS, where I paid $2.09 for the bottle. So maybe check CVS if you need again so you don’t have to pay so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

