Guess what I’m doing right now?

I feel like a homesteading housewife.  I’m rendering fat.  🙂

I’m trying to be as literal as possible with this 3-ingredient diet, and I thought that it might be useful to have some sort of fat to cook with, so I’ve saved all the trimmings from the lamb I’ve purchased, and now I have them on the stove, heating to extract the fat.  Then, I’ll have me a nice little bit of lamb tallow!  Ew.  :/ I still haven’t quite reconciled myself to eating baby sheep.  But, Fiala loves it…

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 16, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I haven’t had lamb too often, but I like it when I do [smile]. Gyros… yum! (too bad there aren’t too many places that wheat free pitas)

    We save the fat we get from bacon to use when we make beans. We never really went very crazy with the processing… mostly just spoon it into a jar [smile].

    ~Luke

  2. A Homesteading Housewife is a wonderful thing to be! 🙂
    Great Job!

    Dana… http://www.TheHomesteadingHousewife.com

    • Yes, I was certainly not disparaging it! I felt quite good about my little 1/2 cup of rendered fat! It really got me thinking today about how, in times past, that’s how it was done! There was no 32 oz bottle of canola oil in the pantry! 🙂

  3. From my vast sheep farming experience (ha ha, I did grow up next to one) the lambs are pretty big when they are killed. I used to raise the orphan ones when I was little and some of them would be sent to the meat works, usually at about 4 months of age I think. They are actually sheep sized by that point and I never, ever thought of them being babies until you mentioned it now. I hope that helps. I can send you pictures of my pet lambs though and make you feel really guilty again :-). It was the weirdest thing as a kid, learning not to get too attached to your pet as it was going to get eaten, but since I wasn’t a vegetarian and absolutely ok lesson.

    • That is SO COOL!! What an awesome memory to have from your childhood! Have you ever read Mountain Born? I’m sure it’s a pretty idealized picture of raising an orphan lamb, but it was such a good book!

  4. He he, no I haven’t. I will post some photos on my blog one of these days of my pet lambs. There is a photo somewhere at my parent’s house of a lamb I raised who came back all the way across the farm to see me – twice! One time after she’d be shorn so it was hard to recognise her. She was huge but I gave her a bottle of water and she gulped it back just like she had when she was a baby. And she was the age they are when they send them to the meat works, so I really should show you that picture and ease your mind about eating lamb! They are definitely the size of full sized sheep!

    The pet lamb thing is one of those really funny growing up rurally in NZ things, I usually keep it pretty quiet around city folk so as to not ruin my coolness. Ha ha.

  1. Pingback: In praise of ceci beans (and other food trials) « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

