My current favorite Diamondback

Ugh!  My post on this topic on Clay Zavada, got EATEN by WordPress.  Even the saved drafts were totally blank.  And now, it won’t let me unpublish it.  But, I don’t want to delete it entirely because now my friend Kathy commented…  Bummer.  Gotta figure something out.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 17, 2009, in Arizona, Baseball, Sports Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Karen, this past spring I had a Western Tanager adult male at my front yard fountain. I asked Eric (the owner of a bird store in Prescott and the most knowledgeable birder I know) how that could be – and he said they definately migrate through Phoenix. You probably have some migrators. We are seeing a lot of variety right now – grossbeaks and orange crowned warblers for example. Wonderful birding time in Phoenix! Kathy

  2. Karen, I don’t know the whole history of Fiala and her medical problems, but since you are already gluten free, and I haven’t seen anything in your posts that I have read about candida, have you considered looking into candidiasis (overgrowth of yeast/bad bacteria)? Fiala’s symptoms keep my thinking she is in desparate need of pre and pro biotics. My heart just goes out to you and your little Fiala.

    • I have never had a yeast infection of any kind — Fiala has, though. I think that if she has candida (something my hubby and I discussed this morning, in fact!), it’s likely secondary. She had symptoms before anything could have happened to upset that balance (she was about 2.5 months old, never had a yeast infection, never been on abx).

      I gave her Florastor a few times, but then I saw that it has lactose in it… 😦 She’s definitely allergic to milk, and lactose is milk sugar. Same with the other probiotics I had given her — cultured in lactose. A different kind we have is cultured in soy (another allergy) and it has apple juice, too (another allergy). I feel kinda up a creek. I will look at the health food store for a different probiotic that is free of her allergens. 😦

      Hubby and I are thinking maybe she has some sort of sugar malabsorbtion/intolerance issue, which would be … well, that is a complicated world — sugar intolerances — and I hope it’s not that.

  3. Mmmmm…a very complex situation you have. Kinda makes one wonder what God is up to. He works in mysterious ways and we often don’t understand His ways. In all things, though, He does have His purposes and they are always for the best. We can take comfort in His sovreignty. Maybe this is His way of growing His precious children and bringing them to the knowledge of the Lord. I will keep praying for you and yours and maybe in time, God will bring about healing. In the meantime, keep looking and researching as God did give us the abiblity to do that. There is an interesting website called, BodyEcology.com run by a woman who has some interesting info on food allergies. You might want to check her article on The Largely Unknown Health Epidemic Affecting Almost All Americans. She says that children can be born with candida and gives her reasons why. Anyway, may the Lord help and guide you through your situation.

    • Thank you, cottagesweet! You’re the third person in four days to encourage/remind me that God must be up to something specific with all that we’ve gone through with Fiala’s health.

      I will check out that website. Thanks for the tip and the kind words.

Leave a Reply

