The total elimination diet update

Buckwheat? Good.  It’s really good.  I’m not tired of it.  Buckwheat groats, that is.  NOT roasted/kasha.  I guess they eat a lot of that in Russia, and I must have NO Russian blood in me, because that stuff is NASTY.  But, raw buckwheat that you then cook is tasty.  I’ve made “soup” out of it with lamb broth and salt…  Yum.  Very satisfying.  Most of our day is spent, though, eating a sort of breakfast cereal — I’m thinking about posting a recipe — with buckwheat, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  Yes, brown sugar and cinnamon are additional ingredients, but Fiala won’t eat it any other way, and by golly, she needs to eat.

Millet? I’m 95% certain Fiala was having a problem w/ it, too — not digesting it well, being extra-itchy on the days after she ate it.  So, that’s out.

Lamb? I am BLESSING GOD that I have been able to find some inexpensive lamb at a local grocery.  I was certain I’d be stuck paying $5-8/lb for it.  I paid $1.79/lb for some breast of lamb, and now we’re on some arm steaks I got for $2.99/lb.  Very reasonable.  Fiala LOVES it.  Loves it.  I typically give her three tiny bites at a time to feed herself, and she picks up one after the other – left, right, left – and pops them all in her mouth.  Now, when she sits down for a meal and there’s no lamb, she looks at me like, “Where’s the lamb?”  However, I’m not loving it.  I’m still queasy each time I eat it, which is typically a little with every meal.  I still don’t like the idea that it’s a baby animal (or at least, a very young adult) — I get flashbacks of Mountain Born, and me bringing the kids to feed carrots to a mini-flock of sheep that live nearby us.  😦  Plus, I don’t think I had ever eaten lamb in my life, before Monday.  It’s just an unfamiliar taste with which I’d rather not be familiar.  I’m trying to have a good attitude about it, though.

In other news, even though I feel like I’m eating a lot, I’m dropping weight.  Martin said, “Hey, it’s like the first stage of South Beach!  I bet you’ll lose ten pounds!”  If I did that, I’d be down to the weight I was when I got married!!  Whoa.  I think that would be cool.  Maybe it’ll become the new fad diet:  organic buckwheat and lamb.

Fiala’s digestion has definitely improved.  Her skin… not greatly.  I think it might be too early to tell the effects of the diet on her skin.  We’ll see.  I’m still a wee bit worried that maybe even the buckwheat isn’t the best for her, but we both need carbs!  And, as virtually all fruits and grains are already known no-nos for her… what else could we do???

We were/are paying $2.99/lb for organic buckwheat at Whole Foods, but I found a case on Amazon of 12/1 lb packages and it works out to $2.28/lb, including shipping (for which I paid a whopping 99 cents).  That’s cool.

So, good progress, I think.  Part of me wishes it was BETTER progress, but I think this is good for now.

My sincere thanks to everyone for their prayers, tips, and encouragement.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 18, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Digestive Woes, Medical Stuff, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It does take a while for the skin to show improvement after changing diet; dairy inflames my psoriasis, and unless i cut it out completely for about two weeks, the psoriasis remains itchy and painful.

  2. This was great to read! Thanks for sharing your and Fiala’s progress with the diet. I don’t like lamb either…or veal. For the same reasons as you. Still praying!

Leave a Reply

