Just doing a little balancing…

Just to note:  I don’t think it’s particularly amazing or strong or inspiring or whatever that I’ve embarked on a fairly extreme dietary intervention with my daughter, Fiala.  In fact, such responses have really thrown me for a loop;  I was not prepared for them at all, and in general, I don’t know how to handle compliments well.  When people start saying nice things about me, I typically will bring to mind all the things that I do poorly in order to balance it all out and not get a big head.

And, since y’all can’t see inside my head… and because I tend to dislike blogs that depict the life of the blogger as a perfect, magical place of rainbows and unicorns…  I just thought I would do a little confession to balance out all the compliments that have come my way.

I confess that, soaking in my washing machine all yesterday — first in washing soda, then in bleach — was a load of cloth diapers that I hadn’t washed for TWO WEEKSTwo weeks.  And, yes, that’s as nasty as it sounds, even though I had rinsed all the poopy ones.  I had gotten a pack of disposables for our trip up to my parents’ cabin over Labor Day weekend, and ended up using them… then buying another pack… plus I got behind on laundry in general… and super-busy with schooling the kids… and trying to get other things back in order… plus dealing with Fiala’s food issues… etc… etc…  All that led to about 30 dirty diapers, sitting in two lidded pails, unwashed.

Yuck.

Now that you know that not all is admirable about me, I can go back to the regularly-scheduled blog and feel oddly better.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Character Development, Cloth Diapering, Housework, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That sounds pleasant. lol!!!

    As a side note – bleach makes me ill, irritates my skin, makes me foggy and nauseous to smell it. Which my husband hates because he loves to clean with it, soak laundry in it, etc. He compromises though. 🙂

    • Yeah, actually, I can’t remember the last time I used bleach!! We’ve been in this house nearly four years, and moved my current gallon of bleach from our LAST house!! I do keep that gallon in my laundry room “just in case,” and I thought it was the appropriate time to use it!! And, one more sentence ending in two exclamation marks!! 😉

  2. Ha ha, that is so funny! I’m glad other people are like me :-). Though that would have been very nasty, I would have pulled out the bleach too.

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    You don’t WANT to know what I’ve got and had lurking! I’ll never tell 😉

    I still say your determination is refreshing whether or not it is at the end of a rainbow!

  4. Sorry Karen, but you don’t win the brownie (see Notting Hill). Because we know that you have 1) had a back go out 2) been very sick in the last week 3) homeschool a lot of kids 4) care for a baby with a serious condition. 5) are burning up time trying to figure out what to eat for you and her. So, even though the dipes were in the wash for 2 weeks, no brownie for you girl. You’ll have to do something worse than that. Kathy 😉

Leave a Reply

