The way on, sort of.

I had a big long post about how cruddy today has been, but I decided to abandon it.  Part of the reasoning behind that was that it gave too much detail to a fight my hubby and I had this morning… we’ve both apologized, and have committed to not playing into the enemy’s destructive plans for our relationship, but instead for each of us to take some steps to rectify our portion of the problem.

The “big” news, I guess, is that Fiala’s allergist finally called.  We talked for about 20 minutes.  The short version is that he feels like he’s reached the end of the road of his expertise for helping Fiala.  He suggested a few things for the way on, all “and/or”, if that makes sense:

  1. See a pediatric dermatologist
  2. See a pediatric gastroenterolgist
  3. Put Fiala on elemental formula
  4. Stay the course

I’m tending to #4 for certain, and #2 possibly.  We’ve definitely had some setbacks with Fiala’s skin in the last week, but overall, I think she’s MUCH healthier on the total elimination diet — no gastro problems at all — well, one in nearly three weeks, and that pretty much counts as “none.”  Still, given the pattern of her poor responses to my incidental food ingestion (IOW, the few bad choices I’ve made whilst hoping that it wouldn’t be a problem for Fi) show us that she likely has some sort of sugar malabsorption problem, which is definitely in the g.i. doc’s realm.

However, I’m still undecided.  Part of that is the time involved, and the dumb $50 co-pay we have to fork over for every visit.  And, part of that is the question — will it do any good?  The same is true for every treatment we’re considering…  Will the time and money put into it produce worthwhile results?  We don’t know.

Still praying for wisdom.

Proverbs 2:6-7  “For the Lord gives wisdom;  from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.  He stores up sound wisdom for the upright;  He is a shield to those who walk in integrity.”

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 2, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Digestive Woes, Medical Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good morning Karen, had a strange awake/dream about Fiala as I was falling asleep last night. She was teething and cranky and drooling and only adding to the confusion and frustration. I strongly sensed your mother’s heart for her. As I was watch, like a tv show, I heard the Holy Spirit gently whisper to me, “have the children lay hands on her and pray for her”. I was trying to tell you in the dream, but you could not hear me. So I asked the Holy Spirit why He didn’t tell you? No answer, but right then you looked at me through the TV???? and I said this to you. It was like a cartoon and the “light bulb” went on over your head.

    I was expecting you to respond by having her brothers and sister pray for her. But you took it one step further, I saw the calendar days fly by and you had added it to the spiritual lessons each day for home schooling where you spent time teaching all of the children to pray for each others needs and then you would choose one person a month for special focus.

    Then I heard the Holy Spirit and kinda felt Him poke me in Ribs say to me ” that’s my girl, give her a seed and she’ll produce a crop” The Holy Spirit was so proud of you.

    As I am writing this now, I have a sense that the Holy Spirit would like you to get prayer from Kathy B. over your children as you teach them to pray and that “from the mouths of babes” phrophetic prayer will be their young hearts specialty.

    So if this speaks to your heart and something you consider doing, please consider me as the first candidate for the month long prayer focus. Just like everyone on this planet, I could use some prayer, especially from the heart of innocent faith of a child.

    • Jane, had I been able to go to church yesterday, I was going to bring Fiala in for prayer during ministry and have folks lay hands on her. My children and I pray for a great number of things, but as you mention it, I think it’s been quite a while since I rallied the troops to lay hands on Fiala and pray specifically for her. I will do that. Also, though we pretty much just pray for the people/situations that are on our hearts, praying as we feel led, I’ve been considering starting a “list” for prayer, and being more intentional about the time, usually at breakfast, when we pray together. So, I will do that, and add you to our list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

