Progress!

Warning (again): This post likely has too much information about poop.  Unless you’re a mother who has dealt with poop issues, you’ll probably want to skip it.  (It’s about healthy poop, but still…)

  • On Sunday, I introduced pinto beans, “refried” style, but only from homemade soaked, simmered, salted, and mashed pintos — no fat of any sort, and no seasoning other than salt.  Honestly, I’m not surprised that she tolerated them VERY well, because prior to the total elimination diet, beans were the only thing that I was confident that she was digesting well.
  • Her skin continues to improve (from our setbacks last week), and her post-pinto-poop was formed and healthy.  I’m THRILLED.
  • I decided that xylitol was contributing to Fiala’s skin problems last week, so discontinued it on … Saturday, I think it was.  So, though I’m not a huge fan of the taste/effectiveness of stevia, that’s what’s sweetening my morning (black) coffee and Fiala’s buckwheat.
  • I also decided to do a mini rotation diet, doing pintos one day, and buckwheat the next.  Sunday was both, yesterday buckwheat, today pintos, etc.  Also included in the mix is lamb, of course.
  • Lamb:  I’m still not a huge fan, but I’m learning about it — learning where to find it, how to cook it, which cuts work best for us, etc.  Leg of lamb roasts are working really well, because I can just make one, and that lasts 2-3 days, depending on the size and if I share it with family members other than Fiala.  Leg of lamb roasts are more expensive than other cuts, usually around $5/lb, but have only one bone going through the center, and not a lot of fat or gristle — essentially, more MEAT to the pound.  My fave, though, is ground lamb!  Whodathunk??  Since I didn’t see it the last trip to the grocery store, I asked my local butcher (the butcher at the Bashas’ on 99th Ave & Beardsley, if anyone local is wondering), and he said that he typically only makes ground lamb when the shoulder chops are on sale.  I guess ground lamb is made from shoulder chops.  Anyways, it’s easy to cook ground lamb patties on my cast iron griddle, and seems the most satisfying, for unknown reasons.  Plus, Fiala can it it very easily.
  • I keep a large saucepan of all the bones I’ve used, and simmer it for 2-3 hours at least once a day.  I also add the broth from the lamb leg roasts to it.  I then use the simmered+roasted broth for “soup” made from plain buckwheat, salt, and the broth.  It is remarkably satisfying.  Also, I can tell that there is quite a bit of nutrition coming out of those bones, because it congeals when refrigerated.  Plus, I need the calcium.  I feel very healthy, eating my lamb bone broth.  😀
  • Even though it’s only been two days since our last food introduction, I cracked open a jar of homemade sauerkraut this morning.  Golly, it’s salty.  We’re not doing dairy of any kind, so all it is is finely shredded cabbage (I used red and regular), mashed firmly down, then 1 cup of water with 2 Tablespoons sea salt mixed in, poured over the top.  That sits on the countertop at room temp for four days.  I couldn’t tell from the outside if it had really fermented or not, but I opened it over the sink, and it fizzed up and out.  I guess that’s a good sign.  Fermented foods are supposed to be good for one’s digestion, plus, I’m just desperate for some sort of veggie.  I ate some before breakfast, and before lunch, too.  I let Fiala try it at lunch, but not that surprisingly, she didn’t care for it.  🙂  Wesley, my 8yo, LOVES it.  Everyone else tried it just for fun, but Wes is the only one who really likes it.
  • Speaking of salt, I don’t know why, but I am CRAVING it.  Maybe it’s because it’s my only seasoning, but everything I eat has to be salted VERY well.  I’m not worried, really, about my overall salt intake, since my blood pressure is very low (too low) to begin with.  Still, it seems a bit odd.  But, the good news is that ‘kraut fits right in!!
  • I have lost a lot of weight.  At the beginning of June, I purposed to exercise more, perhaps losing weight.  Well, over the summer, I didn’t exercise much, but I did stop eating late-night snacks, and through that, lost 10 lbs over three months.  In the last five weeks or so, I’ve lost an additional 10 lbs.  It’s the buckwheat-and-lamb diet!!  Try it!!  🙄  I’m now at about 139.5 lbs, which is the first time in THIRTEEN YEARS that I’ve been under 140 lbs.  I was 134 lbs when I got married fifteen years ago, 138 lbs when I got pregnant with Ethan two years later, and after I had Ethan, I never sunk below 145 lbs.  I’m… umm… a much saggier 140 lbs than I was, lo those many years ago.  Five kids’ll do that to you.  😀  But, still, I’d rather be 140 than 160.
  • So, to recap, here are the foods Fiala can now eat:  lamb, buckwheat, pinto beans, salt, cinnamon, stevia.  I am eating the same things, and in addition, I am drinking black coffee, and eating sauerkraut.  I’ve also had a can of Diet Rite (sweetened with Splenda) every couple of days, and that seems to have had no ill effect on Fiala.  Same with a cuppa black (decaf) tea once every 2-3 nights or so.  I also caved last night… but tried to cave as healthily, safely, and sugar-free as possible, so I had a handful of raw almonds.  They tasted wonderful.  So far, they don’t seem to be having any ill effects on Fiala, but I won’t do that again any time soon, if for no other reason than that they might muddy the results of any other food introductions.
  • On a spiritual note, I am spending more time reading the Word.  Ideally, I LOVE LOVE LOVE to read Scripture by myself in the morning.  But, “by myself in the morning” hasn’t been happening all that frequently, so I have, only since last Friday, been reading when the kids are in quiet time, even if Fiala is not down for a nap.  It doesn’t help me get any more DONE around the home;  I’m still feeling overwhelmed with things undone, but God’s word does give me peace in my heart, which I dearly need, in addition to just being better-acquainted with His character, His promises, and His voice as my Shepherd.  My husband and I are also working to stay soft towards each other, and stay open in our communication.  Tough times and tired mommy does not a chipper wife make.  So… I’m working on both filling my heart with the Bible, and working on getting to bed earlier, to take care of both my spirit and my body a little better, which makes me all-around a little more even-keeled.
  • I have also found a few resources to help me on this TED journey, but that will need to be in a separate post.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 6, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Character Development, Christian Living, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, Digestive Woes, Encouragement, Get Fit!, Marriage, Medical Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I admire you more than I can begin to tell you. you are my inspiration, my friend!

    I’m glad you’re seeing results. I am so down tonight about the state of our diet and Ven’s fussiness. but I think he’s actually coming down with a cold possibly… so who knows.

    he’s almost 6 months and I still feel like I’m just getting to know him.

    anyhow I enjoyed this post. especially the next to the last note!!

  2. I can totally see myself in the last 2. This care-giver thing is making me very snappy. Especially to my kids. I am going to make this a short comment since I need to leave. I will try to email you.

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    Love your disclaimer 🙂 Yippee for success!

    I love what you said Henny about just gettting to know your little guy.

    Karen, I should have emailed but I’d be honored to hear your 2 cents. Check out my post “What’s a Mom to Do” if you get a chance.

  4. More than 10g or so (maybe a teaspoon and a half) xylitol in an adult diet will cause stool looseness. The amount for a small child would be correspondingly lower.

    For this reason, and also because it targets the teeth better, I only use xylitol as a dental rinse then spit it out, rather than using it as a food.

Leave a Reply

