Total elimination diet resources!

If you’ve been reading here at all in the last month or so, you have no way of escaping the knowledge that I’m on a total elimination diet (TED) in order to identify what foods are bothering my 11 month old baby, Fiala, by messing up her skin and digestion.  Along the way, many thanks to bloggy friends and a few searches, I have garnered some good resources.

  • Jill of Bordermama, whose 16 (?) month old daughter is going through the same thing as Fiala, told me about the Quick Topic Milk Soy Protein Intolerance forum.  I’m not certain that Fiala really has MSPI, though two of the things she currently can’t have are milk and soy.  Many MSPI mothers choose to go the TED route, so much of what relates to MSPI is also relevant to me.
  • There are a number of MSPI/TED/food-restricted-due-to-allergy blogs, but my favorite is this:  Affairs of Living.  Kim, who is the lovely author of this blog, has been gracious enough to have a quite thorough e-mail exchange with me about TED and living with extreme food allergies.  Her blog is a mix of about half recipes and half stories/events from her life.  Plus, she’s a great photographer, which adds to the beauty of any blog.  Her blog is gluten free, soy free, corn free, egg free, yeast free, sugar free, peanut free, potato free, citrus free, tomato free, and MOST recipes are also dairy free, tree nut free, vegan or vegetarian, low glycemic, and Candida Albicans/yeast overgrowth-friendly.  So, you’re probably thinking, “What is there left to eat???”  Well, do yourself a favor and pop on over there.  Her blog is CHOCK FULL of beautiful, healthy, scrumptious recipes.  We’re so early in the TED diet that I cannot make/eat virtually anything on her blog yet.  However, as our diet expands, I am SO looking forward to using a great many recipes from her blog.  Mmmmm:  Apple Cupcakes with Raisin Cashew FrostingSunflower Butter CookiesGarlic Chive Parsnip MashMillet Tabouli with Roasted Red Peppers and Olives…  Seriously, every recipe makes me think, “I would SO eat this.”  Something else I really like is that Kim chronicles what DOESN’T work, as well as what was ultimately successful.  It is her new goal, too, to start publishing more few-foods recipes, down to extremely basic, simple foods.  I look forward to anything she has to offer!!
  • As far as I know, Fiala does not have infant reflux.  However, like many babies with reflux, the mothers who want to go about treating it naturally will often — so I’ve discovered — embark on a TED so as to be able to continue breastfeeding and to minimize medications.  That’s right up my alley.  A fabulous, information-laden message board/forum for this is the TED Basics page of Infant Reflux.org forums.  I haven’t posted there yet, but I have done a lot of reading and I did register.  The only bummer is that I, again, am SO EARLY in the TED that pretty much everything that everyone talks about, I cannot have yet, nor can Fiala.  In addition, I guess there is a fairly standard total elimination diet, especially for reflux/colic, that was made “popular” by Dr. Sears.  It contains:  turkey, lamb, potatoes, sweet potatoes, rice, millet, green and yellow squash, and pears.  Fiala tested allergic/intolerant to FIVE of those items.  So, the TED that many on the Infant Reflux board is on is wildly different than the one I’m on;  I won’t even try to introduce the foods that I know are (or have been) problematic until long from now.  Still, seeing so many mothers on there, embarking on (or long-experienced in) the same thing that I am, makes me feel like I’m not so alone.

A quick search will lead to a number of other sites/blogs that mention the TED, but I haven’t really found any of them with more information than what I’ve found above….

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 8, 2009, in Allergies, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. glutenfree4goofs

    Karen, have you found a good list of the order to introduce foods or is that more of an individualized process based on a certain person’s known intollerances?

    I’ve looked and looked (and I’m not the googler you are) for something to guide me in how to introduce foods for an infant. The list you get from the doctor (whom I rarely see on pupose) is quite limited and based on the food pyramid which I have little faith in since the main food groups are big $$ companies in our country. That aside, I have been VERY slow to introduce foods to Davie (1yr) because I’m convinced through research and mom intuition that Judah (2 1/2yrs) has as many allergies as he does because he got too much too fast and lots of it all (food speaking).

    Sooo I’m feeding her only banannas, rice, avacado, raw goat milk and she seems to be ok with wheat (funny enough in my family). What next?

    • I’m sure there’s a list out there, but I couldn’t find one… If you go to this link: http://www.askdrsears.com/html/4/T041200.asp It has basic guidelines. Yes, it’s for a TED, and it’s primarily for nursing mothers whose children have colic or other issues. However, he does list food orders, from (typically) least allergenic to most allergenic. I think it would likely be a reliable guide for baby food introductions, as well.

      Do you have a goat? I’ve found a couple of sellers on Craigslist of raw goat milk, but the closest one is a good 25 miles away, which is really far for a weekly gallon. 😦

    • Oh! PS, I did find a few, but they had, among other things, introducing barley as one of the first foods, and tofu as one of the first proteins. I think you’d be wise to wait as long as humanly possible to introduce any food in the top 8 allergens, at least until her 2nd birthday. Barley isn’t wheat, but it does have an identical protein structure, as I’m CERTAIN you know. :mrgreen:

      • glutenfree4goofs

        Thanks it helps even having someone else say “wait as long as possible because often times people say the opposite, “she isn’t eating___YET!” and it is difficult to justify without some sort of plan. 🙂

        We don’t have goats anymore. I milked a pair for 1yr when Ethan was little but in order to keep them freshened you have to breed them and have kids. We couldn’t find a billy and didn’t want more goats! Sooo, now I buy from a lady who is also about 20 mi away but thankfully delivers to an intermediate location, like the old fashioned milk man. I leave the check and jars, she leaves the milk.

  2. glutenfree4goofs

    I should mention that I do not mean the total illimination diet necessarily. I am just wondering if there is a “credible” resource on introducing foods especially in families with multiple allergies.

Leave a Reply

