Food, poop, and doctors

  • Made an appointment for Fiala at the gastroenterologist’s.  ~sigh~  The doctor couldn’t see her until November 20, but I’m so OK with that, because I don’t feel like rushing into a whole ‘nother round of conventional medical care.  Still, I felt like I should make the appointment.  We have plenty of time to cancel, if we decide that’s what we need to do.
  • Fiala *might* be OK with blueberries.  I gave her five on Saturday, 10 on Sunday, 10 yesterday, and 10 today.  The amazing thing is that, up until now, ANYTHING with ANY kind of sugar would immediately give her diarrhea.  She has NOT had diarrhea from the blueberries, though.  Praise God!!
  • The bummer about not having diarrhea, though, is that now Fiala seems to be constipated!  That’s a first.  The poor dear.  I think she might have even developed a little hemorrhoid.  Seriously.  I did a little Google search to see if that’s even possible, and it seems like it is.  I had to stop searching, though, because searching for any info centering around that 1/3 of the body produces a whole bunch of unseemly websites that were NOT helpful.  Ugh.
  • Fiala’s skin isn’t great right now.  I don’t know if it’s from the blueberries, or some other cause.  But, she has a patch on her chin again, and her legs are broken out again.  😦  I hope it’s not from the blueberries, because eating just a few a day has been utterly dreamy.  It has made me think of that Little House on the Prairie book (don’t remember which one) where the girls get a WHOLE ORANGE for Christmas.  That’s such a different attitude from today’s supermarket-laden shipping-around-the-world norm.  I can almost feel what Laura and her sisters felt, relishing my small allotment of blueberries, and having them taste so wonderfully, as they are my first fruit in more than a month.
  • I tried giving her green beans today, but she didn’t like them.  At all.  After cautiously trying them, she mushed them up on her high chair and looked pitifully at me, then she started throwing them to the dog, who, surprisingly, ate them.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 13, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Digestive Woes, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Had to laugh at your dog eating the green beans. My dog used to love eating them. Dogs need greens, too.
    Those blueberries must have tasted awfully good to both of you. Would be so nice if you can have them. Hope so.
    There are naturopathic doctors around that are very good, without being new age. They simply deal with medical problems using remedies from God’s nature. And, they can often find answers where conventional doctors haven’t figured out.

  2. newbeginnings09

    You know, I don’t really have anything great to add to this. I just wanted to tell you, I’m still reading and still praying for you both. It’s been hard to watch your struggles to find a new food here and there. I want to bubblewrap you both, you know?
    I’m proud of you. That’s it. Just someone, somewhere, thinks you rock completely and is proud of you.

  3. Did you model for her? My 11 mo will wrinkle his nose and smoosh and throw but if I eat it, smile and say “mmm, yummy”, it changes his response!

  4. I feel what you are going through, am going through the same thing. A week ago he was almost clear, then just like that something triggered it off again!! Aside from his Neocate formula that causes his constipation, I have been giving my 11 mo old rice cereal with diluted prune juice to help him out…it was working, or so but its more of a combination of diarrhea and constipation! I deeply believe its something to do with the iron in both rice cereal and formula..so I stopped the rice cereal, maintained the formula, halted the prune juice as it has seemed to “maintain” his cheek rash, and made my own grind ed organic rice with butternut squash which worked awhile although I noticed something, if I continue to give him a particular food after awhile he seems to starts to develop a reaction to it!!! What is going on? i AM not COMPLAINING, just desperately anxious mother, as I know GOD NEVER intended this to happen to our babies but apparently our babies are paying for the 1st world’s pharmaceutical/pesticide/whatever abuse on our water? food? health? all this hidden ingredients! Even baby Food companies lie! I see third world babies crawl and play in the dirt yet clear skinned and healthy!!! Their immune system STRONG and intact!!! why they were not pumped up with vaccines at birth nor given any unnecessary stuffs until they are much older! Its just not FAIR that our babies have to pay the price and we mothers have to go through all these worry angst and frustrations, when we mother and baby should simply just be enjoying each other, the joy of motherhood and babyhood! I just thank God at least I continue to breastfeed him although I barely have any food choices left to eat!

    • I’m of the opinion that all the food allergies/intolerances in our country are due to three, possibly four things: 1) We’re a melting pot of cultures and DNA. Research has shown that people digest foods best that are native to the place of their genetic culture. So, if your family has been in China for hundreds of years, you’ll digest the foods that God provided for that part of the world. But, with our vast mix of DNA here in the States, you get people eating a wide range of foods that were never, ever intended to be consumed by them. 2) Semi-related to #1, here in the States, our food is too complex. Food was meant to be simple. And, while I am truly thankful that I have a well-stocked grocery store up the road from me, and while I regularly shop at an Asian market, people would be SO SO SO much healthier if they had a simple diet of relatively few ingredients, prepared simply. 3) Semi-related to #2 is the fact that we have an ENORMOUS amount of food additives here in the States, and in most other Western/European countries. It’s insane. I don’t know how we can continue to eat chemicals and expect it to have no effect!! 4) I do think that PERHAPS innoculations have something to do with our problems, but I think it’s more along the lines of us being shot with chemicals and body parts (even in teensy amounts) that, again, were never intended to be in our bodies. So, it’s not the problem of innoculation itself; it’s the “ingredients” that go WITH the innoculations: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/downloads/appendices/B/excipient-table-2.pdf – – and how they culture the cells to mass-produce the material needed for innoculations (including culturing them on cow protein serum, chick/egg cells, HUMAN cells — from a cell line that started with an aborted baby), etc. Again, people can’t just can’t stick that cr@p in your body and expect it to have no effect!!

      On TOP of that, you also have medical conditions — perhaps caused, perhaps only exacerbated by the above things — like my family. Both my husband and myself have autoimmune disorders, and — voila! — so do our kids.

Leave a Reply

