Food, health, Christianity, simplicity, and colds…

I am working my way through the Body Ecology Diet book.  I’m not that happy with it.  It seems like 1/3 unsubstantiated claims (literally, no endnotes, no references, no footnotes, though there is a bibliography), 1/3 craziness, 1/6 “buy our product!,” and maybe 1/6 really good information.

When I say “craziness” I mean… I think food and health should be simple.  When it gets overly complex, like, “You MUST combine this sort of food with THIS sort of food and eat it only at THIS time of day, and this is the ONLY way to do it, or YOUR HEALTH WILL SERIOUSLY BE AT RISK!!” well, then… I get really, really skeptical.  When you add to that multiple chapters on colonics, enemas, and various suppositories… it’s just very difficult for me to jump joyously on board.

It reminds me of various Christian denominations/sects that proclaim the same thing about their particular understanding and practice of Christianity, “You MUST worship THIS way and ONLY this way, or YOUR SPIRITUAL LIFE WILL SERIOUSLY BE AT RISK!!”  Ugh.  Now, I’m totally a Christian;  I’m not a Universalist by any stretch of the imagination:  Jesus, through the cross and resurrection, is the only way to God the Father.  However, other than that part, which I believe is the very basic essence of Christianity,  it seems to me that there are a great number of valid ways to live out that belief, and I get annoyed/skeptical/frustrated with those who try to shove all Christians into their own denomination’s box.  Know what I mean?

So, I’m experiencing similar feelings, on a health/food level, whilst reading this book.

I just think food should be simpler:  Eat a wide variety of healthy foods in moderation.  The end.

Still, one thing I read this morning made me think.  I have had a cold for pretty much the entire length (4+ weeks) of the total elimination diet I have been on.  Donna Gates, the author of the BED book, brings up the point that when one starts on her diet, the body will naturally cleanse itself of junk, which frequently leads to cold-like (among others) symptoms.  So, do I have a cold?  Is it because I’m not getting enough nutrients (though I am taking a daily multi-vitamin)?  Or is my body just cleansing??  I don’t know.

Ah… must run.  Dear baby is waking.  Such a sweet little girl…  80% sweet, 20% feisty, and I think that’s a great balance.  Huge smile.  Starting to talk up a storm.  “Gooh grr” is her newest:  “good girl.”  I say that a lot to her!  😀  She’s not walking yet, but she’s standing.  Probably in another 2-3 weeks, she’ll be walking.  Next Thursday is her birthday;  the year has flown.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 14, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Books I'm Reading, Christianity, God/Christianity/Church, Introspective Musings, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have not read it, but I bet you would like this book.

    http://www.michaelpollan.com/indefense.php

    I just like the subtitle: “Eat Food, Not Too Much, Mostly Plants”

    Now that is a simple healthy eating philosophy!

  2. First let me say that I have been reading your blog for a LONG time but I haven’t commented before.

    I totally agree with your statement of Christians and Christianity. You actually took the words right out of my mouth!!!! It really spoke to me and has actually helped me make a decision in regards to religion. Thank you so much for that!!!!

    I am so glad to see Fiala is making improvements.

  3. Great post! All aspects of it. Except that you still have cold symptoms. I’ll pray those clear up for you. Fiala sounds so precious! I hope y’all (I’m back in the south) get it all figured out really really soon. I pray for you everytime you cross my mind.

Leave a Reply

