Waxing, The Messies, time off from school

There’s a way to know — without asking — how I’m doing, if I’m feeling overwhelmed, or if my ducks are pretty well in a row, if I’m fairly relaxed, if things at home are clean, and if there are no major stresses with my children.  You just have to look at me.  At my face.  At a particular part… or, a couple of them.  Or three.  Two brows and my upper lip.  I’m not kidding.  If my brows have joined in the middle, and if there’s a faint shadow under my nose, it’s not a good sign.  In other words, if I’ve waxed, I’m probably doing OK.

I’m not exactly certain why this is, but I’ve noticed the correlation before:  waxed = organized.  I think it’s because I don’t feel that I can take the 20 minutes or so if there are dishes in the sink, or if I know it’s been a couple of weeks since I vacuumed my bedroom.  Not-so-coincidentally, things usually align themselves in such a way that allows me to steal away from my “normal” life for a date with a little pot of beeswax during our week off of school, like this week.

I can’t believe we’ve completed eight weeks of school already.

The past two years, I’d usually school for six weeks, then need to take a break.  Or a “break.”  I start looking around at the accumulated dust, and the mountain of ironing, and the sludge that magically accumulates on the walls of the halls, and say to the boys, “Well, there’s good news, and there’s bad news.  The good news is that, next week, we’re not doing school…” then, they chime in, because they know the drill by now, “But the bad news is that we’ll be spending the week CLEANING.”

Which we’ve done.  It always feels great to me, to get stuff completed, no matter how temporary that completion is, in a family of seven.  Seven messies, myself included.  I’ve only recently admitted to myself that I’m simply not all that tidy.  ~sigh~  But, I’m a good deep cleaner;  I find it very satisfactory.  Special project cleaning removes that nagging feeling at the back of my brain that has been telling me, daily, “When you gonna get that done??”

Anyways.  After we’d done six weeks, it didn’t really feel like we needed a break.  I thought maybe we’d go straight on through to Thanksgiving.  But, I changed my mind.  I’m happy to have the freedom to change my mind, that my schedule isn’t controlled by the school district.  🙂

And, watching the news tonight, seeing a very realistic drill in a high school of what would happen if there was a student shooter, made me happy, as well, that we’re not at the mercy of a school’s priorities.  But, I digress.

It’s been a good week, especially now that all stray and overgrown hairs have been removed from my face.  I feel like a LADY as I clean those blinds.  :mrgreen:

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 15, 2009, in Get Organized!, Homeschooling, Housework, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. We do the same thing. Right now the fans are staring at me begging me to clean the blades and light fixtures.

    We even have the week off due to dad getting pneumonia and the little guy now running a fever and I haven’t accomplished anything. Now that the week is almost over I am starting to feel a little stressed. But we are digging up sweet potatoes today so hopefully that will help with not getting anything accomplished feeling.

  2. This is a great idea for the future. Unfortunately my little ones are not yet old enough to be scrubbing stuff. They like to vacuum the hw floors though!

    Our first year homeschooling a K with 3 younger ones is going so well! I love the new sense of purpose I have to my days. We are in the process of seeing if we can sell our house…for more space and originally, for better schools. That is no longer a priority for now anyway. Homeschool is wonderful! I love knowing what EXACTLY she is learning and being able to reinforce those things throughout our day!

    Thank you for your example and your words or wisdom in this decision making process for me.

    • I’m *SO GLAD* that schooling is going well for you, Tina!

      I’m also so glad that I can just smile benignly when neighbors moan, “When are they going to build the school???” in our neighborhood. 😀 I hope you are able to sell your house for a good price and find one that suits your needs better!!

  3. Strange as it may sound, this post gave me hope this week when I needed it! 🙂 I read it earlier through email and am finally getting around to commenting. Whew, I had a three cups of coffee kind of day! And the week wasn’t much better but I was encouraged by your post! Thanks.
    Jessie at Blog Schmog

Leave a Reply

