Recovery & Thanksgiving

Our plan, today, was to go up to my parents’ cabin in Crown King, just for a day in the mountains, temporarily escaping what is supposed to be record heat — possibly in the triple digits — this weekend, spending the day with my stepdad (who remains my kids’ most actively-involved grandparent, bless him).  However, I was sick yesterday… really sick…  Let’s just call it “flu symptoms” or something like that.  “G.I. disruption.”  Ugh.  Suffice it to say I lost four pounds in one day and am really, really weak today.  And, I wasn’t able to get out yesterday and do the errands that would enable us to leave home for the entire day.  😦

My stepdad was really disappointed, as were/are my kids.  However, he suggested us all having Thanksgiving up at the cabin, which I think is a wonderful idea.  We usually have Thanksgiving at our place, mostly because *everyone* on both sides of our family is (usually) last-minute planners, and that just doesn’t work for a family of seven.  I have to know where/if we’re going anywhere, and plan accordingly.  It’s rough, too, to know how to balance everything.  I don’t really want to invite ourselves, with our large numbers, lots of activity, and weird diets, over to people’s houses, even family members.  But, neither do I want to assume that everyone wants to come over here.  But, I want to do SOMETHING for Thanksgiving.  So, 2-3 weeks before Thanksgiving, after sending out feelers to family, and not usually hearing anything firm back, one way or another, we usually just say, “OK, we’ll have a big meal here, and would be happy for you to join.”

In really, really good news — or, at least potential really good news — it appears that Fiala, after 1 month on a total elimination diet, is starting to handle sugars.  It used to be that even a teaspoon of honey in my coffee would give her a blow-out;  a few weeks ago, I had a banana, and she suffered for nearly a week.  So, she and I had to go ENTIRELY sugar-free for several weeks, not fruits, not veggies, not honey, no sugar, of course.  Now, I have to be careful not to go overboard, but I introduced blueberries to her on Saturday, and there have been no gastrointestinal repercussions.  Yesterday and the day before, I gave her a very few Craisins (not the best choice;  they have sugar added, I know…), like five at a time, and she’s done wonderfully, saying, “Mmmmm!” each time.  This morning, I gave her about ten raisins.  Again, I need to be careful, probably MORE careful than I have this past week, but I am SO ENCOURAGED that she seems to be handling them just fine.  Her face has no lesions;  the skin on her legs isn’t great;  it’s hard to tell if that’s fallout from food, or what… but, in general, I think maybe, soon, she’ll be on a more normal diet.  Well, maybe “normal” is pushing it, but I now have hopes for her to have a diet expanded beyond the six foods and three seasonings which are currently the only things on her “safe” list.

OK.  Now, I’m going to go lay down.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 16, 2009, in Allergies, Arizona, Babies, Family, Holidays, Medical Stuff, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Don’t you hate the last minute planners? I’m part of one of those families too and I just think now if they don’t sort things out I won’t be part of it! The cabin sounds absolutely wonderful though – I would go for it.

  2. Ugh, I’ve had those kinds of GI days. 😦 I need a green smiley frown.

    So happy to hear of successes with Fiala!

Leave a Reply

