Hm, what to do? (Or, SCORE!!!)

So, we’re short on flatware.  Lord help us if I neglect to wash dishes directly after one meal, because then there won’t be enough for the next meal.  I’ve been holding out on purchasing more, because I really only wanted “MY” flatware pattern, Oneida Easton.  However, when each fork is like 15 bucks, one can’t just go out and pick up a dozen.

On Saturday, I saw a Freecycle post about free silverware.  It happened to be right by the Target I was going to be heading to, and I responded.

Now, I have a love/hate relationship with Freecycle.  I get fed up with no-shows, or people who offer their stuff to folks who have the best sob story, or people who ask for things like a portable DVD player that someone might have “lying around,” and it makes me wanna cancel my “subscription” because it fills my inbox with about 20-30 annoying messages a day.  But, each time I reach the breaking point, it seems I hit the jackpot.

Saturday was a jackpot.  I picked up the case, and opened it to find an almost entirely unused (still in packing) silverplated SERVICE FOR 12.  12 forks, 12 small spoons, 12 large spoons, 12 place/butter knives, three serving utensils, and a bonus of 12 coasters.  Wow.  Bless God.

I did a little search, and found out that the set I have is called Enchanted Rose.  Granted, it’s not a pattern I would pick out, left to my own devices, but then, IT WAS GIVEN TO ME.  For free.  It’s a set worth at least $100.  Amazing.

I wanted some more tableware for every day.  However, now we’re thinking, “Should we use this for everyday?”  My hubby thinks not.  Should I sell it?  Tempting, but I don’t think so.  That goes against my Freecycle ethics.  Should I just keep it in the box and use it for special occasions?  I considered that, but then I would still need some everyday tableware.

It’s a nice dilemma to have.

So, here’s the plan:  I cleared out the drawer that’s adjacent to our normal silverware drawer, and my plan is to buy a new silverware caddy, and just dip into the nice silverplate when we run out of “normal” forks, or when we have guests, etc.

Or, maybe I should just be more faithful to wash dishes after every meal…  😉

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 19, 2009, in Housework, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It could be worse, the kids could be throwing your forks away! That is what my husband does and we were down to our last 4 forks in the whole house. I am not going to buy another expensive set again. I went to Wal-Mart and found a bundle of 4 forks for two dollars and Target had a bundle of six for 2.50.

    You may want to go to Tarket every pay period and buy a bundle, they are good, heavy, sturdy material with a plain pattern that is great for everday use. Over a period of six month you could get a matching set of “everday” flatware and save the “silver” for other occasions

    • I will check the forks out at Target!

      I think people have been throwing them away. We started with a service for 4, then bought 2 more place settings in… 1999, so we should have six of everything. But, we have four big forks, four little ones, three little spoons, five big spoons and five knives!! Where’d they all go?? I have no idea. But, I guess that’s bound to happen over 15 years.

  2. newbeginnings09

    I second the bundled silverware! That’s exactly what I had to do this weekend, pick up a couple of bundles of forks. Ours are magically disappearing too. LOL

    The idea of freeecycle sounds very cool. I like craiglist a lot, but free is better. And, YAY for blessings of having to ponder the too nice for every day use silverware!
    ~~Ade

  3. Now this is where you and I differ. :0) People will NOT give me anything nice because they know I will use. We are starting to run low on plates and so I dug out my Christmas china for 40 (from my MIL). It is just sitting in the attic so why buy more I say. My grandma won’t give me her china for this very reason. I say why have if you aren’t going to use it.

    But on the silverware note. We are kinda in the same boat. But when I go outside and find my spoons beingused for shovels I get a little crazy. So we are still washing several times a day.

    I feel the same about freecycle. I just respond to the first person that emails me and leave it at that. I dont’ read the story. Although I had one lady pick up clothes and she cried and cried and cried. I dont’ even look at the emails anymore or ask for anything on there. And yes when I see things like a pool or trampoline. Are you KIDDING me?

  4. No, No, No!!! Not that you have to listen to me. USE the nice silverware. It was free. Don’t you have better things to do with your time than make sure you have all the dishes clean? Use your old set as backup. Silverware is a faithful, overworked, soaked in hot water and chemicals, member of your household. We are barbarians without it. This is God’s blessing. Silverware does disappear, gets stuck in the disposal, gets thrown out in the pizza box, is mysteriously under your boy’s bed. The bundled stuff might be cheap or ugly. Good silverware lasts. Mine does not match, only cause I have to buy more spoons every so often. Boy did I give my opinion!!!! Beautiful pattern for freeeeee!!! I do freecycle too. Have a nice day, now.
    Love, Lisa

  5. OK, silverplated….do you have to shine it? Is it dishwasher safe? If not, disregard above rant. Very nice set!!!

    • Yeah, I don’t know. I’ve never had silverplate! One piece was lightly tarnished when we got the set (one!) and it washed up just fine in dishsoap & hot water. I really don’t want a set that I have to handwash to be my everyday set. I’m thinking about putting one piece in the dishwasher just to see how it will fare. I use all natural/phosphate-free dishwasher detergent, and no rinse agent, and that set-up tends to be more gentle on dishes than chemical-laden stuff. So, I’m thinking it might be safe. I don’t know yet.

      BTW, my tendency is like your original rant. It’s free. Let’s use it. But, my hubby wanted it to be the backup,and it’s not worth a fight, KWIM?

Leave a Reply

