Setback in Fiala’s skin — happy birthday!

Oh, dear.  My heart aches.  Fiala’s skin is the WORST it has been in more than a month, maybe in two months.  Both her cheeks are bad, one has a lesion, and behind her legs are scabbed and oozy again.  I had to give her Benedryl, put Protopic on her face, and triamcinolone on her legs.  😦

At first, I thought it was “just” chocolate that I caved and ate over the weekend (dairy-free chocolate chips).  But, her skin continues to worsen, so I’m thinking that it’s something that she’s being exposed to regularly.  So, I’m taking her back off of four things that I’ve added in her/my diet over the last two weeks:  avocado, blueberries, cranberries, and honey.  All have been added with caution, slowly, in small amounts, but something is hurting her.  I’m just not sure which is the source of the problem.

I’m extra-bummed out, because tomorrow is her 1st birthday, and I was planning on making a blueberry crepe for her from garbanzo bean flour, stevia, cinnamon, honey, and blueberries.  As I made a sample for myself last night, I looked at it and realized that I just couldn’t do it, couldn’t feed it to her.  Her skin is just too, too bad.

So, I guess she won’t really have a birthday cake or treat of any kind, and that makes me so sad.  The only thing that consoles me is that she won’t remember.

Happy birthday, pretty girl!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 21, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Sad Things, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Bless her heart. What a sad setback on this road to discovery and recovery. Your right she won’t remember, but you will, and I think moms are emotional with things like that.

    I am praying that you are certainly not fighting this at her next birthday. But more importantly not even in the next few months. That someone, somewhere will have the information that you need to be able to connect all the dots and know exactly what this is.

    You need to post some more kid pics. I haven’t seen any for awhile. ;0)

  2. maybe you could put more space between adding new things since osme things take longer to show a reaction too?

    also maybe (probably!) you’ve thought of this.. but any chance it could be caused or aggrivated by clothing, fabric cleaner or softner, soaps, lotions….? some babies have a sever reaction to the chemicals in rugs and carpeting.

    • I like your idea of waiting to celebrate her birthday. It got me thinking. Maybe we could wait until April when she is 18 months, and Audrey turns 4, and we could have a big party for the two of them.

      As it is, I’m only introducing max 2 foods a week, but I think I may have to back off on even THAT, and go down to 1/week. It’s my fault — I’m so eager for FOOD — green veggies, fruits, some meat other than lamb…

      I don’t know about the chemicals. We do all natural cleaners around here, so I do attempt to keep us as “pure” as possible in that regard, but if I think too hard about chemicals, my head starts to explode, because that can be so hard to control, so hard to figure out the source. 😦

  3. Eva (KC) was so sick as a baby we didn’t celebrate her birthday until she was 18 months!

  4. You are AMAZING for trying to figure out what is bothering your daughter. For my son, it was virtually impossible to tease out what was making him so sick. It is so difficult because sometimes a food they can initially tolerate, if eaten repeatedly, will cause a reaction. Because of this we always ended up doing a test. Good luck. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • I am concerned about her becoming sensitized to the foods she’s already eating. I was planning on doing a mini-rotation diet with her safe foods, but that hasn’t been possible, because while she handles garbanzo beans/flour very well, if she eats it all day, she gets constipated. Conversely, with pinto beans, if she eats those more than once a day or so, it makes her so gassy that it’s hard for her to sleep! So, I make sure that each day has a mixture of usually two of her safe carbs — buckwheat, pintos, and garbanzos. I do plan on starting a real rotation diet, once she has enough safe foods to make that feasible.

Leave a Reply

