Mama and Birthday Baby

Can I still call her a baby?  She is 1yo today.

Although it makes me a bit sad, I’m liking Laura/Henny’s suggestion to wait until she’s healthier to celebrate her birthday.  In April, Fiala will turn 18 months, and Audrey will turn 4.  I think it might work well to have a big party for the two of them, then.

One year ago today:

She is still SO SWEET.  I just adore her.  Last night, I was at kinship, and Martin had the boys at Ethan’s Little League game, and we had a babysitter over for the girls.  Martin got home before me, and the babysitter said, “Fiala just woke up, but I haven’t gone in there.  Listen.  I think she’s singing.”  And, sure enough, Martin went in, and she had woken up and was contentedly singing in her crib.  ~sigh~  Even with her food/skin/digestion problems, we can’t help but just be in love with such a sweet girl.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 22, 2009, in Babies, Motherhood, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Fiala looks so sweet. I love her smile – and your’s, too!

  2. Seeing those photos makes you want to do it again, huh?

    • Yes, it does. A huge part of me can’t reconcile myself to not ever having another baby, not ever experiencing birth again, not ever loving the wonder of meeting a brand new person that my husband and I, through the creative power of God, created. And, the rest of me reminds myself that I’m 36 and stuff isn’t functioning as well as it used to and the pregnancy with Fiala was so, so rough. I’m very torn.

  3. when Eva turned 18 months, Eli turned 6 so we had a double birthday party and they had a blast! 🙂 she didn’t know any different so she was totally excited about it. any chance for extra attention and presents doesn’t need explanation when you’re that little! hah

  4. newbeginnings09

    Happy birthday sweet Fiala! I can DEFINATELY relate to the bittersweetness feeling of no more. I struggle with it daily.

  5. What a sweet sweet blessing! Her skin is looking much better than in some of the pics I remember and yet I know not as good as a mamma would hope. Keep it up, she is so blessed to have such a wonderful mom.

    I think shared birthdays are awesome. My two oldest have a Nov and Dec b/day but since Christmas is so close we started a couple years ago combining a special day on the earlier date. Now that they know better they still opt to have a shared day.

  6. Happy Birthday sweet Fiala!!

  7. Happy birthday!!!!! Birthday’s are FAMILY events. Here is a family tradition from a family with lot’s of kids. I saw these like 20 years after the fact, but was just so impressed with the look on the “birthday baby’s” face each year. The mom had one of those “instant” polirod (sp) cameras and when I had seen it they converted it to a video. Anyway, they did not have a lot of money for lots of presents for each kid and it seemed there was a birthday every month. They had nine kids. So their Mom made their birthday day “their” day. She said her whole family every month was working on one “family” present to the “birthday” baby. So she said when it was her day, someone in the family would come and wake her up and tell her, her birtday breakfast was ready. She had her favorite breakfast prepared and her chores for the day were cancelled, the last birtday kid got to do them for her. Then during the day all of her family would slip into her room and leave their birthday cards on her bed. Family dinner she was the guest of honor. continued next post

  8. read the other post first…..At dinner everyone dressed up nicely because the “family birthday picture” was going to be taken. They all gathered behind her while she sat in front of her wrapped birthday gift and she was front and center and a picture was taken. The video I saw was of ALL nine kids over the years. I had tears rolling down my face just seeing the faces of all of the birthday babies as they grew up over the years and you could just “feel” the family love in each of those shots. She said even though they did not have a lot of money, their birthdays made them special and unique once a year. It was always family event, no party, not a lot of outside guest, just them. Anyway just an idea you might be interested in.

  9. Happy birthday to Fiala! I can’t believe she’s already a year old!! I still remember reading your posts when you were pregnant and ready for her to be born! 🙂

Leave a Reply

