Why I’m rooting for the Angels

I’ve always been a National League kind of girl, even before the Diamondbacks came to Phoenix.  It started with my Grandpa Conover, who was a huge Cubbies fan.  I have fond (though vague and fading) memories of going to a couple of Spring Training games with him.

I can’t recall a World Series where I’ve rooted for the American League team.  This year, though, I may change that.

I don’t want the Yankees to win the ALCS — their sense of entitlement, their general “we rule the world” attitude, and and that Alex Rodriguez is on their roster means I just can’t be a fan.  Yuck.

And, I can’t like the Phillies, either, even though they beat the Dodgers, for which I’m pleased.  I like rooting for the underdog in general, and since the Phils won the World Series last year, I just gotta feel like it’s someone else’s tun.

Plus, they have Cole Hamels.

I just cannot take that guy seriously.  He sounds like he’s seven years old, especially when he’s excited.

I know that’s an immature reason to anti-root for a team, but when your ace has a higher voice than I do…

So, by process of elimination, GO ANGELS!  (Even if the moniker Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim is ludicrous.)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 23, 2009, in Baseball, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. you’re funny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

