I heart blueberries!

If you’ve read anything on this blog for, oh, the last six months, you are already aware of the continuing saga/melodrama/almost-tragedy of my baby Fiala’s battle with things that her body rejects, most of which are foods.

After embarking on a total elimination diet with her, I’ve been trying for the last 6+ weeks to expand her (and my) diet to find out what troubles her.  So far, the only things that I’m confident do NOT cause her either skin or gastrointestinal distress are only lamb, buckwheat, and garbanzo beans.  I had added in a number of other items, but after we had a major setback a couple of weeks ago, I had to scale back down to the bare bones of those three things.

The good news, I guess, is that I have successfully figured out that grapes/raisins definitely give her problems, both severe eczema and diarrhea.  I have also figured out that — I think — cranberries give her eczema, but not g.i. problems.  I also think that … duh-duh-duh-duh! (trumpet sounds) blueberries do not cause any problems.  They definitely do not cause any g.i. symptoms, and though I’m only about 50% certain that they’re not affecting her skin, that is good enough for me to continue to feed them to her, most days, once a day.

She LOVES blueberries.  “Buh!  Buh!  Buh!” she exclaims, loudly and excitedly.  (She frequently uses the first sounds for words that are familiar to her:  “Eee” for Ethan, “Tah” for our dog Tally, “Nuh!” for nursing, and so on.)

They’re no longer in season, so at first, I bought a 12 oz frozen bag from Sprouts, at a cost of $2.99.  Then, at Costco, I saw a FIVE POUND bag of blueberries for $8.49.  I figured out that at the cost of $3 for 12 oz, that would be like spending $20 on five pounds.  So, even though it seems pricey to spend eight-plus bucks on blueberries, that was a pretty smokin’ deal.

But, since they’re frozen, they tend to be juicier and softer upon thawing, which Fiala doesn’t see as a problem at all:

1029091332

1029091339

The only problem, really, is that blue/purple blueberry stain gets stuck in the (lone, thank God!) bad eczema patch on the left side of her chin, and on her hands, which are quite scaly with eczema, and from sucking/chewing on her fingers.

Sweet girl.  I’m sharing in the blueberry joy;  I’m excited about something sweet to eat, too!  And, if we’re gonna eat a fruit, it might as well be a darn tasty one!

Mmmm… blueberries.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 29, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. great pics! you know you are enjoying your food if it gets all over you…

  2. Awesome! She’s such a cutie!!!!! 🙂

  3. Lovely pictures! I’ve been checking in but haven’t commented for a while – so nice to see those pics of her thriving! Our two would live on blueberries if they could! Blueberry yoghurt – sometimes I wonder why they don’t just tip it over their heads the moment we open it and have done with it…

  4. I cried the first time I found gluten free, dairy free, egg free pizza to let my Zach have! It gets to be an emotional journey! Glad you have found a sweet treat!…and such a healthy one too!

  5. I can really relate. Our son who is four has had severe Eczema since he was a baby and for many many months we would do the elimination diet, then get set-back and this pattern just kept going on and on. No one was able to give us any help with this other than potent medications. It was so hard to see him going through this.

    Fortunately, at this young age they don’t know what they are missing with foods. BUT – now that our guy is four…he does realize it. He knows though that we pack special treats for him but the very best part of all of this? He can eat lots of foods now and his skin looks incredible because of Vidazorb kids chewable probiotics. I have a whole story with before and after pics at my blog here- http://smilinggreenmom.com/?p=56

    *I hope our story helps your little baby!!! 🙂

    • I have looked into Vidasorb before, but a) at 12 months, she’s too young for the tabs (they’re supposed to be for 4 years +), and at $33 for a bottle that lasts one month, that’s just way, way way too pricey. I am trying probiotics, but the kind I recently tried, she had a bad reaction to.

  6. if the probiotics worked it could cut your grocery bill down if she’s able to eat more (and cheaper) foods.

    the elimination diet is costing us dearly… but it’s worht it, as you know 😉

  7. I mean to add to that reply before I sent it… oops!!

    I have a nasty cold so I haven’t updated or read any blogs… but I had to say how excited I am about the blueberries!

  8. I just had to stop by and say how beautiful Fiala’s eyes are. They just seem to radiate peace and joy.

Leave a Reply

