I am so cheap…

My son Wesley has been in desperate need of a dresser/chest of drawers.  I looked into a few of them new…  Lordy.  $200, $300, more…  We can’t do that.  I wouldn’t WANT to do that.  I was willing to spend $40-ish, but found one on Craigslist that was only $20.

On Saturday, my husband and I worked on it:  I washed it down and used furniture polish on it, Martin used finish nails and a staple gun to fix the hardware where the drawers slide in, and to stabilize one of the drawers.  It felt good, working together, in the garage.  Industrious.  Team work.  🙂

Today, I further enforced one drawer with wood glue, and lined the four drawers with clear contact paper, and it’s now in place in Wesley’s room, with his old dresser listed on Freecycle (there probably won’t be any takers, because I was honest about what poor condition it was in).

It’s not a perfect dresser, but I think it’s definitely worth twenty bucks and some elbow grease.

Feels good!

1102091513

 

 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 2, 2009, in Budget, Furniture, Shopping, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. that is the exact dresser ven has in his room. used to be my parents

    • That’s so funny! Wow. I’m tempted to ask you what’s stamped on the back to see if it really is the exact same one. But, I won’t because that would be too weird. 😀

  2. Your fixer upper will probably last a lot longer than a new one anyway! They don’t make ’em like they used to! 🙂

  3. I love properly made furniture – I’ve made too many expensive flat-pack mistakes which haven’t lasted any time at all. Well done on the renovation. It looks a beautiful piece of furniture.

    • Tina & Jennie ~ The pic looks nicer than the actual dresser… Even when new (probably 20 years ago, I’m guessing), I don’t think it was high-quality. However, it’s a LOT better than the particle board hand-me-down that Wesley was using, and it seems solid enough to last for quite a while!

Leave a Reply

