Quiet, sort-of-warm morning

The last few days have seen record heat in the Phoenix area.  Granted, it’s November, so it’s not sweltering… but yesterday did get up to 91°F, a record.  Days in the high 80s/low 90s make for very pleasant mornings in the high 60s/low 70s.  So, the girls and I spent some time in the back yard this morning…

Plus, my very brave friend Allison took all three boys to spend the night at her place last night.  Her own boys are 8 & 10, and my boys (aged 8, 10, & 12) get along so well with them.  Her son Joel and my Wesley are actually birthday twins, born the same day of the same year.  They are also the lone other homeschooling family in our church, so it works out well that we all get along!  Midweek sleepovers — yet another perk of homeschooling!

I love Allison, too.  So does Audrey.  Audrey only recently decided that she will stay as my daughter, and not Allison’s.  😮  I think Audrey was hoping for co-parenting rights or something!  When she realized that living at Allison’s house full-time would mean that I wouldn’t be her Mommy, she decided to stay here, with me as her Mommy.  Whew!  😉

So, yesterday afternoon, after homeschool park day, I went home with just the girls.  It’s been peaceful but weird not having the boys around.  Usually Audrey mopes around when our family is not All Together (which I think is dear), but she’s handling it really well this time.

Anyways.

Here are the girls in the back yard this morning.  (By the way, Fiala has been referred to AS A BOY in that top, bit pink bow and everything.)

Sweet & Smiley Fi

Sweet & Smiley Fi

downsized_1111090909a

Found something to chew on

downsized_1111090910

Hmmm... wonder where she gets the "barefoot in jeans" look from???

downsized_1111090910a

Sweet sisters (if only for a moment -- I think Fiala is actually going for Audrey's jingle bell bracelet)

downsized_1111090912

Dancing, twirling, swirling, running, jumping girl!!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 11, 2009, in Babies, Family, Friendships, Homeschooling, Motherhood, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. she looks great! your girls are so adorable 🙂

  2. Don’t you just love homeschooling! I think there are so many perks that other miss out on b/c they don’t want to consider it.

    I can’t believe anyone would call you daughter a boy. Even if she were dressed in boy clothes, her face says girl. That said, I got it all the time with one of my boys. I made sure that every outfit he wore would leave no question, and yet I still got it way too often.

  3. Love the pictures! Your girls are darling. Dont’ you love when people do that. “Cute boy.” Davie Joy was in a BRIGHT pink t-shirt with a brown sweater over it (but you could still see the undershirt), with jeans and got called a boy. Oh well. I don’t really care that much and I guess I asked for it with a name like Davie. Even though I don’t care I still find it funny how un-observant people can be.

Leave a Reply

