Please read this

If you’re a mom, and you’re struggling with anything, but especially with feeling that you’re not measuring up to… whatever standard you think you should be measuring up to, please read this.  It brought me to tears, and made me wish I lived right next door to my bloggy friend Laura, who wrote it, both to hug her, to congratulate her, and to share in the journey, because mine has been very similar!!!!

These lines, near the end, are my favorite, but please do yourself a favor and read the whole thing!!

I know He wants my heart. not my ideals, not my perfection, not my wishes and desires. and certainly not MY plans for my life. He wants my heart and devotion. my wholehearted devotion.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 12, 2009, in Character Development, Christian Living, Motherhood, Sad Things. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing, I’d missed this post at Henny’s blog. I needed this encouragement today!

  2. Hi Karen,
    Thank you for referring me to that lady’s blog. She was really honest and shared her heart. I think we have all felt that way at one time or another. I know I can relate to all of her words. I’m pretty sure that most women, especially moms (and homeschoolers), understand the daily pressures we face to raise our family the best way possible!
    I hope you are doing well. I know you are extremely busy, but someday I hope to talk with you on the phone again. Have a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

