Grant’s “Newspaper” — it was news to me!

My 10yo son Grant decided to create a newspaper for his journal assignment this morning.  He was so pleased with himself, he ripped it out of his notebook and stuck it to the fridge.

However, I thought that his Obama article couldn’t possibly be true.  I asked him, “Where did you hear about that?”

“At Grandpa’s.  It was on his XM radio.”  (That was my husband’s Dad, who kept the older two boys overnight last weekend so my hubby and I could take a quick trip for our anniversary.)

Then, I Googled it.  Grant had heard right.  (Although it’s actually one man and one woman, not two men.)  I think that bit of “reaching out” is taking it WAY too far, like the three little pigs trying to make peace with the big bad wolf by opening their home to him…  Doesn’t Obama read Aesop?  Not that the three little pigs is an Aesop fable.  But, that plan just has foolishness written all over it, IMO, and unfortunately, I think it leaves the U.S. vulnerable to wind up as the moral of a tragic Aesop-style story.

(You can click the “newspaper” to bring up a larger copy of the scan.)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 19, 2009, in Homeschooling, Political Thought, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi,
    I’m from Ontario Canada and was really interested in reading what your son Grant Printed about President Obama but couldn’t read his scanned article on my laptop. Perhaps you could type it out for all interested.

    Thank you.
    I enjoy your blog very much. I found you when I typed in Gluten free, cassein free sugar cookie recipe on Google. My grandson has autism and his mom is doing her best to help him diet wise. She has seen a big improvement in him already. PTL. :^) They are coming for Christmas so I want to try out your recipe for them.
    Patty

    • If you click on it, it should take you to a larger version of it.

      Or… (Misspellings & all)

      OBAMA APPOINTS MUSILUMS

      Are we still safe?

      As Obama appoints two devout men of the Islamic faith at the highest ranks in the Homeland Security guards, America is wondering if he (Obama) will still highly appoint musilums or, will he stop? All of us are wondering.

  2. your son knows WAY more than I do about politics.

  3. millenialhomemaker

    Your kids are amazing! You’ve given me a great idea for our next book report! Good job, Karen!

Leave a Reply

