Thanksgiving and other stuff

  • Post-post Thanksgiving breakfast?  Bacon, cranberry sauce, and homemade yeast rolls.  Mmmm.
  • My mom said my wild rice stuffing was the best wild rice stuffing she had ever had.  I glowed.
  • Fiala’s face is chewed up with bad eczema sores still, since the outing my husband and I had for our anniversary.  I explained her medical plight way-too-many times to concerned extended family (and family friends) who inquired about her face.
  • HOWEVER, in the most encouraging news in almost three months of The Total Elimination Diet “Adventure,” I had decided in advance that Fiala and I would eat a normal Thanksgiving dinner and just suffer the consequences, rather than bringing garbanzo flour and lamb meat to my in-laws.  😮  In what might be TMI, she has since had 100% totally healthy poop.  Previously, any time I veered even a tiny bit from the TED “safe” foods, she would get green, mucous-filled poop immediately.  Now, obviously, she is still having major skin issues, so I am not yet ready to abandon the TED, but her having normal poop after eating a normal (gluten-free) meal leaves me HIGHLY encouraged.
  • We did not go to our appointment with the pediatric g.i. doc on Friday the 20th.  This is a point of disagreement between my husband and I.  I would have liked to keep it.  However, I totally understand his point:  We spent near $1000 on near-countless visits to the pediatric allergist, what with $50 co-pays, medication, and childcare for those doctor visits.  Fiala was subjected to a variety of uncomfortable tests.  For that $1000 and our sweet baby’s discomfort, we were given very little useful information from a doctor who eventually dropped us, saying he couldn’t be of any more help.  The MOST effective thing, so far, has been the TED which, other than the cost of food, is free.  My husband’s stance is, “Why subject her to countless tests and spend a bunch of money to get iffy results?”  MY contention is that perhaps through some tests, we could get a better handle on how to proceed, instead of just guessing.  Obviously, this issue is not yet resolved.  I’m holding off on pushing one way or another, though, until at least after Christmas.
  • On Wednesday, we got a notice of “no show” from the ped g.i.  This was after I TWICE canceled the appointment with more than enough advance notice.  Grr.  I’ll have to take it up with them on Monday.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 28, 2009, in Babies, Encouragement, Family, Holidays, Medical Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Interesting post-Tday breakfast…but sounds yummy!

  2. I feel like I have been to your blog before so forgive me if I repeat myself. First of all, I am sorry to hear about your little one with Eczema. No Fun. OUr son who is four has had severe Eczema and food allergies since he was a baby. He did not sleep thorugh the night until he was three years old bc of itching and bleeding. Horrible.

    Our son has finally overcome his Eczema by taking Vidazorb Bellyboost probiotics for kids! It has been amazing and wonderful and truly an answer to our prayers. I have am mom blog called smilinggreenmom.com where I share lots of recipes and help with allergy-free living and being the parent of a child with Eczema.

    I an totally understand how you both feel about the testing. We went rhough all of that…several times and I just get so frustrated at the lack of accuracy and consistency with these. Ug! One test would show us he had an allergy to something and the next time it didn’t. We went through the elimination diet for what seemed like forever with him only eating chicken (couldnt find lamb) peas and rice for months on end. After going to so many doctors, chiropractors, holistic people, meds, creams etc and finding out that our 3 yr old was steroid dependent…we knew we needed something safe.

    I cannot tell you how much we lvoe his Bellyboost. He loves them too and thinks they taste like candy 🙂 come see me at my blog anytime – when you go click on elder entries until you see “the most powerful and adorable bee”

    Oh how I hope this helps you too -keep me posted!
    Lynn

    • You have commented here before! And you recommended Vidazorb last time, too. I did check into it, but it was so expensive, AND it wasn’t recommended for kids under 2yo, if I recall correctly, and my daughter is 13 months. I’m currently using Bluebonnet probiotics and am very happy with it. It’s dairy/soy/rice/corn/etc free, and it’s reasonably priced (about $12 for 50 capsules). I just empty a capsule into a glass of water (that’s the only liquid she’s drinking right now except for breastmilk) and that works well.

      However, I do totally understand that when you’ve found something that works wonderfully after months/years of frustration, you want to spread the word!!!

  3. Hi, is this Bluebonnet probiotics you mentioned the same as the Bluebonnet – Milk-Free Acidophilus Plus Fos Gluten-Free – 250 VC ? Do you buy this at whole foods? Thanks

  4. Im ordering this one right now. Im taking (Ortho Biotic)for myself but never thought id give one to my baby fearing the above mentioned ingredients!! But if its dairy/soy/corn/etc-free, this is great! I think its very sensible and clever! Baby Sky and I will give it a try and hope for the best. Whole foods doesn’t carry it so we’ll look further on… Thanks So Much Karen, you’re an Angel.

Leave a Reply

