Mismatched shoes, “love you man”, baking, babies, and books

  • Saturday.  Shopping at Trader Joe’s.  Baby Fiala with me.  I’m shifting in the check-out line, biding my time.  My feet feel weird.  I look down.  I am aghast to discover that I had on one BLACK shoe and one BROWN shoe.  I was sssssooooo embarrassed that I had to confess to the check-out lady.  😆  I can’t recall that I’ve ever done that — wear mismatched shoes out of the house, that is.  I think I’ve randomly confessed to checkout ladies at the grocery store before, though!!  Hahaha!  The shoes were vaguely similar in style, but one had a hard sole and the other soft;  I can’t figure out quite how I could let that happen.  I so wanted to take a pic, but the battery on my phone died.
  • We’re not doing a gingerbread house this year.  The deadline for judging was November 30, which would have meant we would have had to spend the week of Thanksgiving doing the house.  That wouldn’t work.  I thought the kids would be crushed, but they weren’t.  They just asked, “Are you still going to make a bunch of cookies?” and I assured them that I would, but I still haven’t.  😮
  • I still love farinata.  I still make it every day, sometimes twice.  I don’t let the batter sit for four hours first though;  I can’t figure out why most recipes instruct you to do that!  I just whip it up and pop it in the oven.  Some brands of garbanzo flour, I’ve found, are lumpier than others, and benefit from, oh, 15 minutes of sitting.  But not four hours.  My fresh rosemary plant is plucked to twigs;  I had to buy some fresh sprigs at the grocery store  last night!!
  • Thanks to my friend Allison, we’ve been enjoying the Horatio Hornblower series as a family.  Love it.  My hubby and I did see the first four when they first aired on A&E years ago, but we haven’t seen the newer four episodes.  Everyone in the fam has been watching it.  Then, come to find out that there are BOOKS upon which they were based (written in the 1950s & ’60s).  Duh.  Should have figured that out long ago.  An e-mail just popped in from the library to to tell me that the first two in the series, by C.S. Forester, are now available to pick up.  The boys will be thrilled!  I was told that the Hornblower novels were based on Horatio Nelson’s life, but at least according to Wikipedia, maybe they weren’t — at least not entirely.
  • My hubby and I swapped trucks on Friday, so he had the nicer one in which to pick up a guy from the airport.  I thought this was FABULOUS.  It tells you that a) his truck has a LOT of miles on it, and b) the guy who does work on our vehicles is a really good friend!!!
  • I still don’t have my Christmas decorations up.  😮  I want to have my house perfectly clean before decorating, and, um, it’s not.  I was just reflecting that, in general, this has been my worst year of housekeeping EVER.  Fiala is such a precious, happy little girl, but she has been very time-consuming, and as she still wakes about every 3 hours, 24/7, to nurse, I haven’t had a good night’s sleep in, oh, a year.  That saps the energy, lemme tell you.  I’ve been thinking about asking my hubby for once-a-month maid service for Christmas, just to do dusting/polishing.  I can get everything else done (usually), or assign it to one of the children as a chore, but I’m sickened (not literally) by the 1/4″ of dust that piles up on everything.  Then, it picks at the back of my mind and drives me batty.
  • Speaking of housework, I’m now off to mop the floors!!  I get odd satisfaction of having REALLY clean tile floors.  Nothing like a crawling baby to tell you whether or not a floor is clean.
  • OH!  Speaking of crawling babies, Fiala is now almost-walking.  She still prefers crawling when she needs to get somewhere in a hurry, but she regularly takes steps now.  Her record is 16 in a row.  We all get excited and exclaim and clap, whereby she promptly sits down.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 8, 2009, in Babies, Books for children, Christmas, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Family, Friendships, Funny Stuff, Holidays, Housework, Random Stuff, Shoes, Shopping, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Vehicles. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, little Fiala on walking those first steps! How fun!! Makes me think of when my babies started walking. Better than watching tv. Really clean floors is one of my favorite things in a home. And, with dogs, I sweep and mop almost everyday. Wish you could get some really good nights’ sleep, Karen. Nothing like good sleep to get you ready for the next day. Someday, soon, Fiala will be old enough to stop nursing and you can get a whole night’s sleep without disturbance.

  2. millenialhomemaker

    I wouldn’t feel so bad about the mismatched shoes. My aunt wore a white shoe and an off-white shoe to her daughter’s wedding! Nobody noticed it, but I noticed it when she stepped out into the bright sunshine! Boy, was she embarrassed! I just giggled and told her to stay in the shade 🙂
    Always a pleasure to read your blogs. You have a way to make “real” life seem bearable, even when it’s so hard.
    Someday I’d like to make a gingerbread house, too. Maybe we’ll make a Hogwarts or something fun. It just looks really time consuming.
    BTW, I’d love to help you clean your house if you’d like. Just let me know.

    Have a great night!
    Jeanne

  3. I laughed so hard about the check out lady. They must be the “hairdresser” for mom’s! 😉

    It’s that time of year to make that Big Batch of Cookies again isnt’ it? I think I’ll link you on my blog.

Leave a Reply

