Fiala goes to the chiropractor

Even though my husband and I both semi-regularly go to the chiropractor, we have never taken our children when they are very young.  Yesterday, I took Fiala (who is 14 months old today).  The chiro said that it is VERY infrequent that he sees a baby as young as Fiala who is as TIGHT as she is.  Usually, he would put his hands around a baby’s ribcage, thumbs in front, fingertips along the spine feeling where it’s out of alignment, then he picks up the baby and the weight of their body plus the gentle pressure along the spine causes the spine to right itself.  Well, when he placed his fingertips along her spine, she started screaming.  That didn’t work.  I laid on the table, and laid her on me, belly to belly, and he was able to feel around on her back.  Then, the doc used the activator (looks sort of like doorstop that clicks gently on the back)…  So, she was only half-adjusted.

Last night, she slept the best she has in MONTHS.  Coincidence???  I don’t know.  She slept from 7:30 to 12:30, and from about 12:45 to 7:15.  That’s the longest, with the fewest amt of wakes that I can ever remember.

Normally, my fingers don’t reach that far, but I have tried holding her like the doc did, a couple of times, and she is DEFINITELY in pain along her upper spine.  Now I understand why she cries every time I lay her down to change her diaper;  she’s not crying about getting her diaper changed; it’s because of the way I hold her that hurts her along her spine as I lay her back!

I wasn’t sure if getting her adjusted would do any good… but I might be changing my mind after only one visit!  We go back next Monday.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 10, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I am a natural childbirth advocate and an erstwhile birthing class instructor. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 22, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Medical Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. usually after getting adjusted my kids sleep better for a couple of days. oddly it’s usually the 2nd night for whatever reason. or they take a good long nap… my guy says that’s normal.

  2. btw through some advice of a couple of moms online I’ve been lookign into mitochondrial disorders…. it sounds like Eva and Ven’s issue pretty well (of course that’s to my untrained mothering eye…) have you ever heard of it? I’m scared to mention it on my blog b/c of relatives reading it and freaking or poo pooing the idea altogether (sometimes their opinions just confuse the matter) any just figured I’d ask you since you’re kinda like me in the whole “what the heck can my kid eat?” kinda thing…

    • I would be really surprised if either Eva or Ven had any sort of mito disorder. Especially Eva. Well, Ven, too. They both seem (from pics and descriptions!) to be developing really well muscularly. Delayed or regressive muscular problems are almost always a part of any mito disorder… However, there are a number of them, and many of them look different. I have seen a number of discussions about mito disorders; it seems a “trendy” thing to look for right now. I don’t know why that is. Please don’t be fearful. I’m not saying nothing is wrong with your kids — I still find it REALLY ODD that we have similar problems with our children — I just would be shocked if it’s anything mitochondrial with either your kids or mine.

  3. I’ve had similar experience with chiro and babies. My younger two had adjustments when only weeks old and then off and on to easy constipation and congestion. I swear by it. So interesting about how you lay Fiala down I’m going to pay attention to that with mine.

  4. When I eat foods I’m not supposed to, I develop major knots and muscle tension before any other symptoms. I have to go in for adjustments regularly to combat that. I could see the tension and maladjustment being totally related to her food issues.

Leave a Reply

