Double-Red Quinoa

A while back, I ordered some buckwheat from Eden Organics via Amazon.  They mistakenly sent me a box of red quinoa instead.  As it is a food item, the customer service folks at Amazon said I could just keep it, in addition to refunding my money.  At the time, I thought, “There is no way I’ll eat all of this.”  So, I gave six of the 12 packages away.  Now, I’m rather wishing I had them back!

Easy to digest, gluten-free, full of protein and fiber, if you’ve never tried quinoa, now is the time to start!  Quinoa is nearly as versatile as rice, cooks up in about the same time as white rice, but with much greater nutrition.

Once my supply of Eden Organics Red Quinoa ran out, I’ve purchased Ancient Harvest Inca Red at a local grocer.  Expect to pay about $3.50 – 4.50 for a 12-16 ounce package.  Each 12 oz package has 2 cups of quinoa.

It is hard to believe how delicious a recipe can be, with only a very few ingredients.  I’ve been making this super-simple dish literally 2-3 times a week for the last month or so.  I’ve eaten it both as a side dish, and I’ve browned some ground lamb and stirred it in for a complete meal.  It also reheats beautifully for tasty leftovers.  (If there are any!  The first time I made this, I ate every last bite!)

I’ve tried it with collard greens in lieu of red chard, but I don’t like the taste nearly so well.  The delicate taste of the red chard combined with the nutty taste of the red quinoa is a perfect match.

Check the organic section of your local grocer for red chard.  I have been able to find organic red chard for the same price as conventional!  (At Sprouts, for anyone in the Phoenix area.)  With organic olive oil from Trader Joe’s, organic quinoa, and organic red chard, this is a super-healthy, clean, tasty whole-grain dish!!

Double-Red Quinoa
makes 4 side-dish sized servings

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt (or, to taste)
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup red wholegrain quinoa
  • 2-4 stalks of red chard (leaves and stalks)
  1. In a small saucepan, bring olive oil, sea salt, and water to a boil.  Stir in quinoa, bring back to boil, and turn down to a simmer.  Cover and simmer for 15 minutes.
  2. In the meantime, chop the red chard into fairly small pieces.  (I slice the large leaves lengthwise several times, then slice them crosswise into 1/4″ slices.)
  3. After 15 minutes, stir the quinoa.  There should be only a bit of water left in the pan.  If it is dry, add up to 1/4 cup more of water.
  4. Stir in the chopped red chard, and return to a simmer.  Simmer for five additional minutes.  After five minutes, there should be very little water left in the pan.  If it’s still quite “wet,” turn up the heat and boil until most of the water is evaporated.
  5. Serve hot!

Click here for a printable version:  Double-Red Quinoa

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 23, 2010, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just made quinoa for the first time this week! How funny. We loved it! Ours is Trader Joe’s Organic Whole Grain. 3.99 for 16 oz. Very tasty and I actually noticed how much longer I felt full! I’m going to get some more! (The kids…well, we’ll keep offering it to them…they don’t like rice either.) (Glad you are well, worried when I didn’t see anything from you for so long!)

    • Yeah, about kids… three of mine LOVE it (Ethan, Grant, and Fiala). Wesley tolerates it, and Audrey does not like it at all. You win some, you lose some. 😉 Finding a dish that 7/7 people LIKE and can EAT is almost impossible! So, I’ve just steeled myself to the fact that not everyone is going to be gushing praises for every dish I put on the table. 🙂

  2. Oh I love Quinoa! My kids like it, too. The only person in my house that won’t even try it is my MIL, lol. Ah well, 4 out of 6 ain’t bad!

  3. Hey Karen, I made this for myself last night because it sounded so intriguing and unintimidating. After the first couple of bites I thought, “well, that’s ok. I can eat some and keep the rest in the fridge for a side dish”, but then a few minutes later I found myself scraping out the rest of the pan for the last few grains.

    The quinoa I got wasn’t red. I found that stirring in a good dusting of cayenne gave it back a little color and perked up the bite. 😉

Leave a Reply

