Remind me of this post when it’s 115 degrees in August

This is now the desktop image on my computer

Yesterday was the sort of beautifully glorious day that makes me realize why millions of people live in the Phoenix area:  Giant cumulonimbus clouds breezing across the most impossibly clear, deep azure sky.  Bright, warm sun which made the world simply sparkle.  Clean, invigorating breeze, temperature in the low 60s.  Recent rains have given a green tint to the rocky, desert hills which surround my neighborhood, and the play of cloud shadows on their slopes and valleys added to their drama and beauty.

I kept praising God for His amazing creation, and thanking Him for where I live, exclaiming countless times, “It is SO BEAUTIFUL out here.”

Today is similar, but much of it has been spent looking out the window, as we’re back to school today.  Yesterday, I spent as much time as possible outside.

Late in the afternoon, the boys wanted to watch the Super Bowl (I did, too, and a good game it was!), but I wanted to a) take advantage of the day, and b) give the girls a chance to run around, as all too soon, the rest of the family would be plunked in front of the TV, in which they had no interest.  So, I took ’em to the park, which we often do on Sundays.

We had a little dietary setback this past week, causing a facial rash again; the likely culprit is corn, which has been removed from Fiala's diet again.

I met another mother, there for similar reasons with her very small nephews and 8yo son;  her husband, 12yo twin sons, and other family members at home watching the game.

Audrey (um, not pictured) successfully pumped her legs on the swing for the first time!

Fiala thought she wanted to go down the very long, steep slide, so I took her with me, restraining her from going down by herself, precariously perched on the landing, as I wrestled to get her onto my lap.  Then, I comforted her as she squealed with tearful cries after we reached the bottom.  It was the slide equivalent of one’s eyes being too big for one’s stomach.

Other than lovely little girls and the weather, yesterday, I was thankful for:

  • Finding oranges for 33¢ a pound.
  • The fact that, when adults, my children will not put errant apostrophes in signs:
  • A new family at church who homeschools, bringing the total up to three.  The mother is so dear.  I’ve spent the last week contrasting, in my mind, the character of her, and of another mother, with whom I had a conversation recently, who is such a knot of fear — no freedom, no peace.  Yesterday, I wrote the hs’ing mom a note of encouragement, telling her that the Holy Spirit is bearing fruit in her life.  (I’m NOT implying that homeschooling equals peace;  many homeschooling mothers are not particularly peaceful;  it’s just nice to anticipate hanging around with a family whose matriarch is a beautiful, peaceful woman of God, who is submitted to His plans and whose life reflects it, and I’m thankful for God putting her in my path.)
  • And I’m thankful that I did not grow up listening to The Who.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Allergies, Babies, Family, Homeschooling, Life in the Desert, Loving Nature!, Motherhood, Music, Sports Stuff, The Kids, Total Elimination Diet, Weather. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Those photos look touched up they are so perfect! Lovely.

    We have 12″ of snow on the ground…it’s been snowing for 14 hours straight…I kind of forgot what a blue sky and green grass look like! Thanks for the reminder!

  2. I am so happy that Fiala is doing so much better! She has gotten so big. Time sure does fly.

    We have had 3 ice/snow storms here. That is very unusual for us. I am ready for the spring!
    Praise the Lord on the progress for your precious baby ❤

  3. Oh so Beautiful Fiala! What a precious little darling!!1
    Re: I kept praising God for His amazing creation, and thanking Him for where I live, exclaiming countless times, “It is SO BEAUTIFUL out here.” Amen to that! God is truly Good.

  4. Amen on the Who (uggh) and the apostrophes (apostrophe’s) !!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

